Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Illogical Lives

by marod - Jam Entry

******************
KNOWN BUGS:

IF THE GAME DOESN'T PLAY AT FIRST TIME, PRESS F5.

IN WINDOWS BUILD THERE IS A LITTLE DELAY BEFORE THE GAME START AND SPLASH SCREEN

I'M WORKING ON GETTING WEB GL WORKING

SORRY

******************


Hi! We're Marod and Alverspin!

First of all, sorry for our english. We are not english speakers and maybe the game have some translate mistakes.

We're going to present you our AWESOME GAME. It's awesome because this is our first "finished" game, and our first participation in a Ludum Dare.

We have designed the game together but I have dedicated most of the time to programming it and draw a few buttons. All the fantastic art is by the hand of Alverspin.

We want to tell little histories in our game, and the best thing that fits in the theme was growing to the dead. We have only two buttons too with environment entertainment with a lot of references to funny things, movies, et. but We don't know if that still inside the two button theme.

It's a simple game but our game it's meant to be funny and we think we have accomplish it.

We have done it with a few tools like Unity3D, Aseprite and Gimp. We have taken the audio from Freesound.org and Incompetech.com

You can follow us on twitter:

@Sergiomrd & @Alverspin

We hope you like it and don't forget to comment!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#38Humor(Jam)4.02
#304Graphics(Jam)3.81
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#641Overall(Jam)3.19
#686Innovation(Jam)2.89

Comments

midgard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice little game! I only wish it had more content into it!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Didn't work for me? "Uncaught Unknown Compression Method"

willchil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Couldn't get it to run, Chrome and Safari gave me this error:

An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
Uncaught unknown compression method

angela says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Hello! It looks funny but it won't load in my browser. I'm using Chrome, and this is the error in the console.GET http://www.sergiomalonda.com/games/ludumdare/ld34/Release/FinalBuild.js 404 (Not Found)
I'll check back later. good luck!

dj_pale says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Also got a JavaScript error using Chrome

marod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Okay, I think I have solved it.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

got - The error was:uncaught exception: incorrect header check

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Coudln't play the game unfortunately. Same error, uncaught unknown compression method.

Fallenthief says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Didn't load in firefox, incorrect header check.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

Couldn't play :/ looked fun

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:38am

I got an "Uncaught Unknown Compression Method" error when I tried to play. Screenshots looked cool though - I wish I could have played

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46am

Nice graphics, overrall great idea, too bad for the super short length !

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27am

I have put some links to Webplayer and Windows if Webgl doesn't work, I'm getting into it. Sorry for the inconvence

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23am

I'm spanish and this game has a lot of character from TV, Politicians from my country, and represents international "stars" of the world of gamedev. If you understand the jokes, the game is amazing. Good graphics with a lot of choices. Nice little-game.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

I love the easter egg to Notch. He died with depression hahahaha. Good game :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:03am

I must say, this made me smile a lot. Especially the DEV branch, where I guess a lot of us can relate.

Good game, definitely needs more content though and more interactable things in the scene.

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08am

Funny game! Would be great if there was more gameplay :)

bessdlan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

nice little game ^^ a little short but i like it ;)

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11am

Funny little game, had fun playing it. :)

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Interesting concept :D Are you thinking to expand it?

juaxix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Nice pixel art :)
Oh, thanks for trying my game,can you give me more details about the error or the log file?

Nooner Bear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I really enjoyed this one. I explored each possibility and some were pretty funny. The art is nice as is the music.

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Good. but I needed more content to feel a little sorry

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Neat entry! The graphics are very hip.

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Funny game. A little bit more content would have been nice.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Nice art !! Love the ultra zoomed pixel arts

smbe19 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

The text displays way too short, I had no chance to read all of it. Otherwise interesting idea, and cool interaction with the environment.

rogberth says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Great game guys, really had a laugh with all the references.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Interesting game. Very short but fun.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Funny story and nice pixel graphics!

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20pm

The graphics were top notch, game is very simply "Choose a path" style thing with a branching tree of simple outcomes. But I loved the art, the humour of each screen, I had to play and see them all. Keep it up guys!

Neil says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:00pm

A very nice, very short game! I enjoyed it, was fun seeing all the different outcomes, and I think it was a very good match for the theme!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I love this game! The idea is absolutely brilliant - seeing the different routes the life can take is really funny and entertaining, and the art adds a lot to the game. Keep up the good work, I really look forward to seeing your next project!

fafastudio says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:13am

Cool game ! As the others said i wish it would last longer :)

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Make texts last longer, I had difficulties to read them all! Loved the humour. IMHO you can improve it by adding lots of interactions with objects in rooms (which should trigger additional humour, obviously XD).

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:51am

Great point and click game.

Artwork was very well done.

More content would have been great, but you achieved what was required.

Need to make the random text appear for slightly longer, sometimes to quick to read.

Being able to interact with other things in the room would have added to longevity.

Wevel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Love how the music changes every time you have a new life, could do with some more content

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

this is a nice entry :)

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Funny, wish it was longer

Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:01am

Good attempt for the time you had! Personally, the humor was a little too cynical for me, which felt a little tired, but the graphics were high quality.

Two problems I had though, when running it in full screen (it doesn't quite fit the box on the LD site), clicking kicks me out of full screen, and the text disappears a lot faster than it probably should. Played through it and got all the endings though, you clearly spent a lot of time on the graphics!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Really fun game and great first entry to Ludum Dare.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]