Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

CRESCO

by Robin - Compo Entry

IMPORTANT: To play the game you must install the Visual C++ Redistributable included in the .zip (vc_redist.x86.exe)

CRESCO is a 2d platform game written in C++ using SFML. I picked "Growing" from the two themes. It wasn't easy to come up with ideas though! I still hope you enjoy the game :)

This game was primarily a way for me to practice writing C++ code, but also just a fun experience overall!

Tools used:
The game was coded in C++, sound effects were made with BFXR. Art was drawn in Paint.NET. Music was composed using Ableton Live.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#300Audio3.04
#388Overall3.35
#467Graphics3.11
#502Humor2.33
#503Mood2.93
#519Fun3.11
#760Innovation2.64
#885Theme2.93

Comments

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice. I like squeezing before jump.

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Awesome things: level design, in-game tutorial, enemy design, character animations, well-made and precise physics-based controls. Enjoyed the music, not so much the sounds. Wish I could perform the "crouch down" maneuver while moving, I think that would allow more control and more possibilities. Overall, great job!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Nice job throughout! The jumping mechanic was a bit odd at first, but I got used to it rather quickly. The graphics were nice, but somehow they gave me the feeling that I'll have nightmares of the main character. :D

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

A graphically and aurally enjoytable experience. Some diverse enemies, good level progression, and some challenging jumping puzzles. Very well polished.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Good game overall, not very innovative, but well executed. And cool music!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Nice game. I liked the physics, the animations and the whole experience in general. But I believe you could have made the bee AI better.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

very nice game, keep working in it

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Squeezing mechanics for jump are nice addition to the gameplay

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Cool gameplay and neatly polished game. I liked the art style :)

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54am

Such an awesome entry! Love the art and game feel, the small touches of squeezes really add to the overall effect of the game play. It is slightly let down by the sounds, but overall awesome job!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

nice artsy stuff, good sountrack too

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27pm

The character rolling in the air felt really cool and and it was great fun to chomp everything to death, well constructed! Good job!

Pixelaborate says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Excellent submission! Everything about it was a lot of fun and it was paced in such a way that made it really enjoyable. My only real complaint is it should have been longer!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:30am

nice game)

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Lovely main character. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]