Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow

by mitya1234 - Jam Entry

A small puzzle game about trees and tris.
Your objective is to build a tree by triangles from to the top.

Made by Mitya Trifonov, WhyNot and Nickolas Barmenkov.

I've updated the WebGL build and set memory to 512 mb. Please write about errors you've got. Maybe it can be fixed.

There are instructions at the top of the screen when game starts but this is instructions here:

Green triangle - you can place triangle.
Red triangle - you cannot place triagle.
White triangle - you get + 2 moves.
Blue triangle - you get + 4 moves.
Hold RMB to restart game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#194Audio(Jam)3.59
#283Mood(Jam)3.51
#314Innovation(Jam)3.41
#374Graphics(Jam)3.70
#475Theme(Jam)3.72
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#784Humor(Jam)2.08
#893Fun(Jam)2.65

Comments

Furrnot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

This game is pointless and boring. Also you should dig a bit deeper into a probability theory.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

I got error when playing web.
1. your embed on this page should be http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=62494
2. when playing on itch.io it says you need to give webGL more memory?

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

The idea is pretty cool, and the atmosphere defined by the visuals and music is very nice, but at the beginning it is a bit unclear what to do, and some initial states are irresolvable (perhaps you're actually making sure of that and this was just me before I figured out how to place tris). Also, there are some memory issues, I got an "out of memory" WebGL error.

You still have time, so if you can solve those issues you can have a solid entry.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

After downloading the game I played it, I found it very easy and reached the top with 16 moves left, it was also too short, very nice style, art and graphics though.

huminaboz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:24am

Loved the music.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28am

great aesthetics, and sounds. Well done

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Unless you game is inception, no, this is not the correct embed: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=62494 ;-)

I would just leave it out. I liked the light effects. The triangles are hard to get the one you want selected though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:35am

Actually, this might work for you embed link:
http://commondatastorage.googleapis.com/itchio/html/134460/07/index.html

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07am

Thanks Boltz Interactive for working link!

manabreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:48am

I liked it! A nice take on the growing theme. The graphics were nice as well. The only nitpick is that it's a bit unclear what to do at first, and the placement is a bit unprecise at times. Nice work overall!

Remblej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49am

At the beginning i had no clue what I am supposed to do. When I got the idea I finished game with 20 moves left. It's pretty addictive, though.

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

If it only have some instructions or something...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27am

I like your take on this ld theme :) good game keep up the great work

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

I really like the idea, but I might be too stupid to play it... is the game generated so that it's always possible to grow? Sometimes I feel I don't get given enough moves, but perhaps I'm just failing and don't realize it.

Really nice mood to this one.

(PS: No idea why Furrnot can make his rude comment, he hasn't got an entry :/)

Rudenko says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45am

nice! i like sounds and music.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Well, the audiovisual is definitey this game's strength as I really enjoyed the soundtrack and the minimalistic artstyle (the lighting was especially nice) and I do like the general atmosphere.

The mechanics are also easy to grasp and I think the can plant/ can't plant-thing is pretty clear as well as the objective. I do feel though, that some things were a bit unclear, such as how I achieved the end-goal. Was it just to build perpetually or was there an additional goal? I wasn't too clear on that.

Additionally I was a bit unclear on what exactly generated more moves, so I wouldn't have minded a bit more instructions there.

Technically also it's pretty nice. There were only some slight lag when I tried to raise a level which ended up with me using moves on nodes I couldn't see. Bu other than that it worked nicely.

All in all, besides for those nitpicks, it was a pretty nice experience. Good job :).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Whoops, forgot to rate it ^_^.

bodsey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Well it's kinda gorgeous and I think it's interesting even if it's a bit short and maybe level designs would work better than full random. Congrats

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:35am

Interesting! Choosing to represent a tree as a series of triangle cells is a unique choice, but makes sense too. Loved the laid back, post-rock-y music -- it really adds to the feeling of continual growth. Nice.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Bit unclear about how to start but this is a super cool experimental peaceful little game! I actually quite enjoyed having to figure out a lot of it, really enjoyed your entry!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:55pm

It would be nice to have some instructions, but maybe it wes ment that player should explore everything by himself. I relly like the music and graphics looks fresh to me. Really nice job with the mood to !

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:04pm

There are instructions at the top of the screen when game starts.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Nice entry. I wish I could add triangles with an edge connection instead of a common vertex because it seems weird at the moment. Sometimes I couldn't add triangle on a spot, but then I moved my cursor and get back there and it became possible. I think there is also too many white triangle below the starting point. I managed to have more than a hundred triangle available so it was not challenging anymore... I like the atmosphere of the game, it is really relaxing. Good use of the theme. Well done!

reheated says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:38pm

I finished it before I had completely figured out the rules. Very beautiful though!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:04am

Was really confused at first. As soon as I understood it was fairly easy to reach the top. Really liked the art style. Nice job.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:55am

Thank you, it's smart!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:58am

Interesting game, but I found a gamebreaking bug. If you plant directly beside a white triangle, clicking on the triangle nets you points WITHOUT consuming it and without growing anything. In other words, infinite move farming. Needless to say, getting to the end was super easy after that.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Thanks justinooncx for reporting about bug! It will be fixed in post-compo version.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

For some reasons I was able to create triangle with only one corner ( no side ) touching my tree. This make the game easier but I was still able to enjoy the majestic mood of your game. Great work. The embed forced me to scroll up and down game ( then I have to scroll again in your game to reach bottom or top )

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:06am

Great atmosphere and concept!
But it may need more factor makes it better.

OwT says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:06am

Wow, that's a really nice game! I played it a lot of time and i really enjoyed it, this music with the awesome graphics and light gave such a nice, mysterious mood... I like the logic conception, it's really intriguing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]