Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

HUNGRY BEAST

by bazz_boyy - Compo Entry

Here's my first EVER jam entry, HOPE YOU ENJOY!

YOU ARE THE HUNGRY BEAST

EAT PEOPLE,

GROW,

AND DESTROY.

Controls: Left Arrow, Right Arrow

I was gonna add more enemies but i'm a bit of a noob at programming and this was the best I could do.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#79Humor3.58
#285Fun3.42
#339Audio2.95
#570Overall3.13
#571Mood2.83
#625Theme3.55
#664Graphics2.76
#699Innovation2.76

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:55am

Awesome job man!

avocadojoe says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 1:10pm

cool

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Hillarious!

GGC_Language says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Good job, but graphics are not so good.

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Kind of confusing but pretty good all and all

Djimpey says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Very funny game, i think you should have made it so you noticed the stones more. :)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Great job!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I haven't expected many first-person games. Great! It somehow reminds me Carmageddon :)

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:39pm

*can partially clip into walls(nit pick but you can get pretty far into it)
*button and where you press the button were misaligned.
*cann't use keyboard on menu screen

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

Oh shit! Nice game. :D

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:43am

For a first LD, this is awesome mate. It's fun to actually feel like a monster, which, yeah, you do in this =)
Great work!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46am

Pretty fun, but the constant health loss made it reeeally hard to stay alive.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48am

I like how it was kind of a first person bullet hell game. Provided an interesting experience. Nice work!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:10am

@ProjectX593

Heh I know right? I should have done better testing. There was a fine line between too hard and too easy... hard to balance

madcoil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

I like the midi metal soundtrack. The game is fun as well but I get killed almost immediately by the huge amount of blue guys.

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38am

This great for a first entry :D

Lacks a great deal of polish, especially in terms of graphics and sound... but also in gameplay, as it is fairly difficult to grow. I kept eating people to replenish my hp a little bit every time, but it was draining fast and when I got hit by bullets it was very hard to recover.

It is a very promising idea and aligns well with both themes, but like I said, needs polish, which I'm sure you don't need me to tell you ;)

Good luck in the compo and congratulations on your first jam :D

Jackson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:40am

Excellent Job!

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32am

@Esayitch Haha thanks, indeed it needs more polish. The game is pretty hard too. It was really hard balancing for some reason :o. Anyway thanks for your informative comment.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43am

The graphics look pretty sweet to me...not including the UI, though.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

The claws look awesome! A bit too many cops for my taste. Would be more playable and enjoyable if eating humans would gain more health, or if less cops would be shooting at you.

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22am

Great job on your first jam, man! I like the facial expressions and screams from all the dudes as they run away from you. Haha. And the music in the background is pretty sweet too. :) It is hard to stay alive with the humans spread out as far as they are, but still I enjoyed it.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I can't stop laughing. Excellent game. RAWR!

kernel panic says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Guy throws clay pigeon at monster...
Monster looks at person angrily...
"Oh, Sh**!"
NOM!

Good game!

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

My second best human eater simulator, just behind Attack on Titan :)
Enjoyed the game.

elizeu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Very funny game, great job

dvdfu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

Awesome game for your first jam! Hilarious, and great way to combine the themes.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:35am

Very nice job for a first timer! :D The game is very funny because of the sound effects and I can see you put a lot of effects into those monster claws. It gave me a good laugh so thank you!

Green Soda says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:59pm

hah! our game really is quite similar... good job! i like it

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27am

nom nom aargh

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:57am

interesting - nice for your first every - keep it up

dkilford says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:02am

Good first entry! The game was fun and quick to pick up. The voice work was definitely what made the game work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]