Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Root Dungeon

by Tasgardyen - Jam Entry

The theme choosed was Growing.

Root dungeon it's sort of a roguelike where you exlore the depths beneath the young great tree Yggdrassil, and look for resources to make it grow while you fight for your life; You and the tree are the same being, if you die, the tree dies.

You can explore the dungeon clicking in the minimap(it's that box at the lower right corner of the screen), you have 3 resources (water, minerals and Mana) that can be spent on yourslef to improve your stats (there's a button to open the character sheet), or you can grow the tree and make it expand through the dungeon to make it more powerful.

To fight you use Q,W,E buttons:

Q - Punch single target, very strong
W - AoE unch, not so powerful
E - Shield (you block damage)

When fighting, the blue bar it's your personal mana, every attack costs 20 mana, and if the enemies hit you and you don't block, you'll loose some personal mana too, so time well your attacks!! Also you can cancel your attack by using E (so it blocks) but you'll spend the mana as if you've hit the enemy.

There are some rooms weere you can gather resources, but remember that in order to go deep into the dungeon, you'll need to Grow the tree!! so don't expend all the resources in yourslef!

This game was made by:

@TargaryenWizard: Programmer, and Game Designer.
@Jesus_Perez14: 3D artist.
@Beast_Shugo: 2D concept artist.

It's made in Unity 5.3;

Enjoy!^_^

P.S. if the menus are in your way, try 1920x1080 resolution!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#388Graphics(Jam)3.68
#785Innovation(Jam)2.72
#817Humor(Jam)1.95
#839Mood(Jam)2.71
#901Overall(Jam)2.85
#980Theme(Jam)2.84
#982Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

LudumFans says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:45am

Two button controls and growing... (But here we have 3... and the growing concept are stats...)

I tried 4k resolution and the gameplay was the same...

Low Poly Design OK but the main character?? and 2D enemies?

When you are fighting with 2 enemies at the same time there are problems with the attack.

The low poly style fits good but the 3d model & animations... Because the main character makes erratic movements and the gameplay doesn't have any goal.

The gathering of resources makes no sense.

There are a lot of menus.

I don't undestand why the game designer has decided to make a game with this kind of static gameplay.

Maybe the music and the particle effect are the best parts of the game.

Good Luck

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:16am

I really liked the lowpoly style, and in general I think the battle system has some potential, but the game is too complicated I think--it would've been better to reinvest some of that development time into making the battle system more robust/less buggy. I liked it though!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Quite complicated. A decent entry for the 72h it was made in though!

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Great, but unused potential. Fighting was really stale, whole game is quite laggy for me as well. Would've been a great game with more polish.

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25pm

The game looks really cool, but it's too buggy and complicated to be properly played.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08pm

This game looks very cool and I like the thematic. But the game seems overly complicated. Most of the time I don't know what I'm supposed to do. Also there are quite a few bugs, for instance, mineral and fountain text can persist in other screens.

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

A good game, indeed, but maybe out of place. Themes are not really present, and the fighting systems are too restrictive to be real-time fighting. I really liked the game, but it is too static for me, and it looks like you can do a lot of things where it doesn't. (Maybe because of the menus ?)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:38am

nice colours and good mechanics.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:15am

i really tried but i could not figure out any of the contoles for doing this game - too bad because it looks awesome - nice effort

themadknights says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:46pm

The concept is really nice. The art is awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]