Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Attack Of The Radioactive Octopus From A Planet Near Mars

by donvermo - Jam Entry

You are the many-armed Emperor Gronthozor the Magnificent, have crash-landed on the planet Earth. Eat the tast, tasty humans that roam its surface. Avoid the puny military's tanks that want to interrupt your dinner. Steer all your tentacles with the left and right arrow keys in this fast-paced multi-tasking action game in pixel art style.


============
NOTICE:

There are no mouse controls.
Everything in the game is controlled using the left and right arrow keys.

A NEW VERSION IS UP, it adds in some left out graphics.
============

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#172Innovation(Jam)3.64
#205Overall(Jam)3.67
#214Fun(Jam)3.55
#241Humor(Jam)3.20
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#509Graphics(Jam)3.47

Comments

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Good music. Nice Visuals. Fun to play. This is great! Nice job!

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:33pm

*Attack.exe flips out chrome and av security like crazy. Very bad file-name to pick
*when a tentacle dies it needs to make a sound to let the player know that was a bad thing to do
*high score screen was broken for me, unable to click anything but could type text (had to alt-f4 out). I tried again but samething happened

Fun game! it reminds me of Death Worm Game (that is a good thing)

saebyn says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Very nice - challenging and fun to play.

eerongal says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Fun little game! i really like the music and visuals, but gameplay can get a bit repetitive.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Good music and gameplay. Fun little game!

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35am

Very cool music! And a great eye exercise when controlling more than one tentacle.

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Gets really difficult later down the line. Fun and challenging game :)

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Pretty cool game, the gameplay is challenging and fresh.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

I enjoyed this a lot. The music and visuals are great.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great entry!! It fits both themes perfectly, and it's really fun to play, although I got a bit lost with the controls for a few seconds the first time I spawned a new tentacle.

Amazing job! :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Wow the visuals are great... Music cool. This game is a really good job.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:01am

Nice. I like the idea of controlling multiple tentacles that way, though it seems like if I just focus on a couple of tentacles the game won't end, as I'll spawn new ones as the old ones die.

JaviCepa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04am

Cool game with an innovative mechanic! Loved the 2 player mode ;)

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31am

Awesome. Gameplay is fun and music/sounds fits nice. Textures a bit blurry, but it's fixable ;)

AndreasL says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34am

Cool game! The tentacle monster looks wicked!
Seems like your graphics got messed up by the engines anti alising. Or maybe that was the look you went with.

Good job!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:09am

Nice idea! The music got really good as the game went on and I really like the difficulty progression. It's hard to keep track of all the tentacles, I'm sure with a lot of play you can work out some system to keep them all in useful places.

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Love the idea, very innovative. Good graphics too.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Amazing crazy work! like the details! You have a really good understanding about fun! :)) om-nom-nom

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Maybe let the tanks at least use the road.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14am

this game has it all - one of my favorites so far! well done

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:46am

Why can't i rate it for sound? =)

wandernauta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Evgenii: We didn't make the music for Attack Of The Radioactive Octopus From A Planet Near Mars ourselves, so it would be unfair to enter into the Audio category.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Great innovative game.

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Great work!
Gfx look nice and sounds are fitting :)
It would be nice, if humans/tanks wouldnt run through "buildings" in the bg.
The game feels really nice, because the tentacles move in nice patterns ;)
I got 225292 points.

P.S.: Awesome game title :D

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Enjoyable with interesting retro graphics. It played well in single player but was a little cumbersome as a multiplayer game.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Great game! Gets difficult to control once you have 3+ tentacles, though that's part of of fun.

TheWzzard says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:34pm

the environment looks nice but has no bearing on the gameplay which is initially confusing

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:57pm

this ones a keeper

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Neat concept, fun game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]