Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Stardust

by Charzendat - Jam Entry

A chilled game where you use your orbiting satellite to position the Hydrogen and Helium molecules into the centre circle. Collect enough and get the right balance to give birth to a beautiful new star. Only thing I ask is that you plat it at least twice.

For my first Ludum Dare I tried to stick with just the one theme, but ended up doing both anyway. Thinking of having just two button controls I didn't want to tie either them to movement so the next thing that came into my mind was having one to attract something towards you and the other to repel it. This made me think about gravity and how in space molecules will come together and form stars. This also fitted within the theme of growing as the more you gather the bigger your star shall become.

P.S. Remember to get the molecules into the CENTRE CIRCLE. I wrote it in flashing letters on the title screen but from the feedback I had some people still miss it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#137Innovation(Jam)3.72
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86
#812Mood(Jam)2.76
#919Overall(Jam)2.83
#950Fun(Jam)2.55

Comments

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24am

May have had promise but I can't get over how painful it is every time an asteroid comes by. That was slowed way too much.

prymidion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22am

An interesting idea here... I like the design, but I found the controls hard to use. It's tough to do such an exact task -- like pounding nails with a sledgehammer! It might be easier if the chemicals drifted around randomly a little more, so you had better odds of finding them outside of groups.

Good stuff!

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09pm

The funny thing is that is the game I spent the most time... but not able to understand how to play :))) I like the visual so much, and the idea to create a star... so I tried tried... Nice like playing a ZX Spectrum game without the manual :)

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice idea! The particle effects are very pleasing. That asteroid is pretty frustrating though. :D

pkenney says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Cool mechanics and a nice chill vibe. Not sure I've seen a game's instructions warn "BE GENTLE" before, but I liked the careful touch required. Soundtrack really added to the feel.

Nice work. My best star was Grade B.

DifferentName says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:25pm

At first, I found it incredibly difficult to get anything in the center, and I was confused how the target percentage worked. So I got zero points.

I tried a bit more, and felt like I was doing well getting stuff into the center, then an asteroid came along and threw everything out of the circle! So I got zero points again. Wtf. The asteroid defeats the purpose of doing anything.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Very cool idea, although it took me around ten rounds to understand how to really play. Also the random asteroid is quite unfair.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

interesting idea... although the controls being so indirect make it very difficult to actually control specifically what does in and what stays out. and the asteroids are annoying :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Simple and fun. Great music, good graphics.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:54pm

A good idea for a game. Its well put together with good music.

Finestep says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23am

The asteroid was an... interesting design choice.

sathorn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:08am

Interesting game idea but i found it a too difficult to control what goes in the circle, and then comets come and mess everything up further.

francoisvn says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I made a star :)

Geti says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:22am

Yeah the asteroid coming right through the middle really messed things up pretty often. I like the idea though and the particle spam was top notch ;)

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I managed to make a star on my first try, but it was very difficult to position the particles inside the centre circle. Would have been great to get some kind of feedback when you are doing something correct.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]