Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dopest Sphere Around - Pandaman3D

by Pandaman3D - Jam Entry

Hey guys, this is my 1st time in the Ludum Dare Competition. I went solo and made a Star Wars BB8 game :D. I went with the 2 button theme. You can only press A or D. A to strafe left, and D to strafe right. :) The point of the game is to make it to the little house for safety. You're in the middle of a warzone, so there will be a lot of lasers flying around you. Do your best to survive. There are also mine-bombs on the floor. Make sure not to hit those. Thank you for playing it, and I look forward to see what everyone else submitted. :D

itch: http://pandaman3d.itch.io/bb8-game
Twitter: Pandaman3D
Twitch: twitch.tv/pandaman3d

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#202Humor(Jam)3.32
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#259Graphics(Jam)3.92
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#427Fun(Jam)3.25
#525Overall(Jam)3.32
#546Mood(Jam)3.18
#740Innovation(Jam)2.79
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

sathorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

The game looks fantastic! Problem is that you can't see the lasers before they hit, so you get taken out completely by chance.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27am

Solid first entry! *curses at randomly blowing up*

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

ffffuckingf laser ufkc

Ka-Wiz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

okay i beat it, 10/10 worth it

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

great little game and model :), dam lasers! great sounds :)

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

Yeah... I hear the most about the lasers. I should have given a warning of where they are going to land. I did the best I could with 48 hours though. It was a fun and learning experience. I'll give a heads up in the future Ludum Dare. :) Thanks guys!

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:54am

Looks great! Same issue with the lasers

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04am

Do you think you could include a downloadable link? I'm having trouble with the unity web player.

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:15am

You can download the game through Itch. I posted the link under the "Web" link. But here is the direct link if that helps. :)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1ltiidtrz1x8ghr/bb8Game_Pandaman3D.zip?dl=0

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

I curse you, you dammed laser! My poor litle droid...

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06pm

well that was something, i was sooooooooo close to beat it. well done. hated those lasers coming from nowhere.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Damn lazers! Sweet little star wars entry, enjoyed dodging the traps and making it through the level - took a while! I seemed to fall through the level a few times but overall a good little entry, nice one :)

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very topical :P

Sadly the random sky lasers ended up frustrating me a lot, they seem unavoidable.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

couldn't get it to play, try webGL.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:17am

damn those lasers - nice game

Kizler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I have no idea where those lasers were gonna hit next. :( Once I got all the way to the end. I was glad. :D

CPau says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Great little game, well done!

ajayajayaj says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Very awesome game and music. Haha!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]