Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PEACHY

by studiopareidolia - Jam Entry

Download rar from link, extract and double click on "PEACHY.exe"

Use the arrow keys to move, 'z' to jump, and 'x' to pick up and throw peaches.

The objective of the game is to feed the plant on the top of the tower with peaches. The game is incomplete, so if you can get all three peaches to the top of the tower, consider yourself a winner!

Disclaimer: It was made with a custom engine, so FPS drops, wall clipping, and wonky physics might happen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45am

I want to play but i got this message: OpenAL32.dll missing

BoltKey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:22pm

I really like this concept that you have to throw object around so you can get somewhere. I bet some of the chambers had some pretty interesting puzzles, however I don't have the time to get there. The player movement is quite natural. However, at least some sort of tutorial would be nice, I had no idea what to do until I took a look at the description. Just a plain text displayed with objective and controls near player start is quite enough. I enjoyed the sounds. However, the difficulty is a bit too high. I didn't manage to feed a single peach after like 10 minutes, which was quite unsatisfying. Also, there seems to be an annoying bug. When you throw peach into a corner, you seem to be not able to pick it up. Also, I fell through the ground once, but I know how much pain it is to make proper collisions so I am going to overlook that.

The sounds were nice.

benwiley4000 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:07am

Would love to play -- I'm running Linux, and the Windows build wouldn't run in Wine. Could you provide a Linux build or at least source and build instructions?

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Looks cool! I'd play/rate if you did an OS X build!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:24am

hahahah ~ the picture is so cute …… but i don't know why i cannot play the game ~

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:47pm

I grew planty of human heads. 10/10

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Great pixel graphics and cool gameplay for being your first jam! Keep up the good job!

Thanks, I'm gonna go eat a peach now.

-LeMix

Dec 31, 2015 @ 8:05pm

I think I glitched it out? Nice graphics though (of the peach and environment) I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/i8PM6O3S2Ao

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]