Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow To Jump

by Lares Yamoir - Compo Entry

"Grow To Jump" is a game with Platformer like mechanics, even though you play it with just the left and right button on your keyboard. The goal is to pick up all the water buckets in order to excape the dungeon you are in. How is that supposed to work?
Well obviously by growing a plant! As you can see the game tries to incorparate both themes "two button control" and "growing". The later one is also implemented as a mechanic in the game. By changing the size of the character, you are able to traverse the dungeon and find the much needed water buckets.
The game was made in Unity 5 and you can download the WebGL version of the game (works by default in Firefox, Chrome needs some extra work).

Also added a windows build just in case. For that it's recommended to play in 1920x1080 resolution, because otherwise you won't see the whole scene.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#233Theme4.00
#557Innovation3.04
#567Audio2.44
#577Humor2.14
#581Graphics2.92
#716Overall2.96
#730Mood2.57
#857Fun2.48

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Web download doesn't work - you can't play a web game from disk (Chrome complains about cross-origin permissions issues). Try putting it on GameJolt or something that will host for you (or does DropBox have an option for that?). Just to test myself, I dropped it on my web server, http://thesilentb.com/ld34/gtj/ if others need a link.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Pretty solid. I had incredible difficulty getting past any of the spike traps on the ground, spend a long time on the first pair of two of them, had to give up on the "Almost there" room when I finally made it through only to realize I needed to be bigger and had to go back -_-.

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I agree that the game is probably to difficult (or rather tedious) to play through as a jam entry. I'll try to figure out, why the download isn't working correctly, thanks for testing it out regardless Jimbly :)

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Oh yeah didn't realize that in Chrome you can't play html games locally by default (although you can change that). In Firefox you can do that by default. Will provide a windows build just in case.

sonelliot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42am

Those spike traps are hard. They seem like they wait until you start moving to fire, just to troll you. Is there an easier way to get past them? So far I've just had dumb luck with my movement timing.

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:05pm

@Sonelliot The spikes are activated when you reach a certain amount of speed, so pressing the direction key for a short amount of time does the trick. In one scene you can also avoid the spikes thanks to the jump points.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34pm

The spike traps were way too tedious to overcome. Also gave up at the room "almost there". Liked the grow mechanic.

RIDBers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:38pm

It's was quite difficult, I dedicate all the time to evaluate this game in trying to pass the first two tramps. I missed a background music loop. However, I would like to congrat you for the effort!

cgriff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Cool game. Spike traps are a nightmare, though! I liked the use of different mechanics and bite-sized sections.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Good idea, but, honestly, i hate this spikes. They're broking the hole experience. But it looks interesting and i like the sounds

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:55pm

I missed jumping to pass the spikes! But when I read how they worked here it wasn't that hard to do.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Web would do well if you hosted it to itch.io or another site. I found Firefox works fine with it however. The game is a test of patience and exact movements.

Janacek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:37pm

This game is REALLY hard ! It looks like the spikes just wait for me to walk on them to kill me :(

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:38pm

So intriguing game, but I can't beat with level "Almost there" =(

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:18am

The spikes were very strange but I liked the controls and concept.

themadknights says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:38pm

The spikes are annoying, the mechanic of "walk - shoot spike" is awkward. By the way, the idea is a nice idea so in average is a good game.

AboLD says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:08pm

The Spikes are very hard, but well done :)

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Haha, couldn't figure out the pattern of the cursed spikes (- then i read in comments).
I think the grafics are functional, but they could use some variation.
Movement felt somewhat floaty.
The growing/shrinking at certain points is a cool thing.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:34pm

When I hit the final room as a small character I gave up. The walk-spikes are conceptually interesting, but mostly just a test of patience, of which I have little after 100+ LD entries ratings ;) Nice idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]