Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Fuzzy The Bouncing Ball

by InfinitySquaredGames - Jam Entry

Fuzzy the Bouncing Ball is a hardcore platformer that takes inspiration from Super Meat Boy, and other games of that style. The game was created for the Ludum Dare 34, so there are only a few stages and gameplay is limited. The theme I used was two button control.

Controls:

Move - Left and Right arrow keys

Restart - I added this just in case of bugs. It's not really a control.


Sorry for no OSX or Linux export.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#64Fun(Jam)3.90
#143Overall(Jam)3.77
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#267Mood(Jam)3.53
#333Humor(Jam)2.96
#350Graphics(Jam)3.73
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#696Innovation(Jam)2.87

Comments

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Nice game. It is pretty fun. Crashed once when the ball hit the bottom of a platform.

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

Fun. Found it hard to control the jumping and didn't get past the second screen. Super cute graphics.

FlatPivot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09am

glitchy

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24am

Great game, simple and yet fun. Clever gameplay. Almost didn't play because DL required payment, then I saw that I could by-pass that. Also, I ran into a bug where if you hit the edge of a wall just right, you get stuck.

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25am

This game is awesome! I loved it

bushmango says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

I got stuck in the wall and my little ball was not happy. Very cute game. I liked playing in the water.

Xinelu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43am

I really enjoy the graphics and gameplay.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:48am

Awesome game! The gamplay itself isn't anything too special but the levels are well designed and interesting. Game looks and sounds good too. Good job!

gmatsura says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53am

I really liked the style. Controls felt smooth and responsive. The music for the most part was great... but at times became dischordant and hurt my ears a little. Overall, very good entry.

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:54am

Cute graphics and nice tunes. Unfortunately these kind of games need a lot of polish to be fun for me. The air movement is weird.

fede0d says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Very good looking game and it's fun to play.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

I got stuck on the before last level when I hit a platform from the side. the restart button made it so I didn't need to restart the game :)
Nice music and cute graphics.

socapex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:24am

Awesome game, super fun and challenging! The graphics where actually nice, except for the grey spikes :/ They kinda broke the look. Gj!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57am

Got the same bug. Lil' fuzzy got stuck to the wall.

Shurty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Very very good entry. The gameplay is simple and the difficulty very well adjusted. I want more levels ! :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:50am

Really good :D I honestly haven't seen many good platforms this ludum dare because the 2 button control theme often ruins them but having fuzzy bouncing constantly was a good workaround to this limitation and made this short game very fun, instead of frustrating :D

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

Very cool game! Nice take on the theme. I played through to the end, and it was very fun and challenging. Very nice graphics as well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]