Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

it grows!

by skripteriant - Jam Entry

A strange creature breaks out of a lab, rapidly growing by consuming all organic matter near it.

so this is my first jam, and I barely finished in time and... well I'm not sure finished is the right word, but here goes nothing! There was a lot that I didn't get to put in, and its very very very short, and buggy, but I hope you like it!


Edit: theres something wrong with the installing it (thanks for letting me know MadmenProductions + mr.a)
I'm going to see if i can't get it to work correctly.

Update:
windows and mac are both working

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#533Theme(Jam)3.65
#550Humor(Jam)2.60
#694Graphics(Jam)3.11
#879Fun(Jam)2.67
#896Innovation(Jam)2.50
#976Overall(Jam)2.72
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

I don't understand how to open the game. The online one here doesn't work and the download doesn't have an application to start the game.

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24am

Yeah, I'm having the same trouble. The webplayer isn't loading (the error in the console says: "Refused to display 'https://www.dropbox.com/s/et1l0t37rv8werq/web34.html?dl=0' in a frame because it set 'X-Frame-Options' to 'SAMEORIGIN'.") and the Mac download seems to be just the contents folder of the app.

Not sure what to do about the former (does dropbox offer origin policy settings?), but for the latter, maybe uploading a .zip of the .app file will solve things (it looks like dropbox is mistaking the app for a plain old directory).

skripteriant says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44pm

oops. Thanks for let me know! I've been trying to et the web version to work but It doesn't seem like I'll be able to of now. The downloads should work now though.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Cool graphics and pretty fun. Would be better with an invert mouse option, and definitely needs some sound/music. I'd like to hear those doctors scream when you eat them! :]

Dege says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

I liked the 3d pixel graphics, it reminds me Delver (check it out, it's your style, I bet you'll like it!). The monster drawings and lab are not bad. I found some desks in the rooms which are missing a collider, you can pass through them, check carefully next time :)

We know music is hard, but as @MrJoshuaMcLean said, you could add sound easily. Try bfxr, for example.

Two notes on the download. You should remove the two big *.pdf files (which are useless, only needed for debugging) to speed up downloads, and then pack it all in one single zip file.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:09am

It felt good turning into the fast monster. It felt bad eating the chickens but I did it anyway.

Absorb this information and do with it what you will.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Nice Pixel artwort... nice idea. +1 for eating chicken ... even as a vegetarian... I think that putting a simple ambient sound or some music would be good for the game. Good job anyway.

leonoel says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Prety fun to turn into a big monster, but a lack of feedback when you're attacked...
And i don't understood why i win this :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]