Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Forces Awakened

by MisterAddy - Jam Entry

Fly in the Aluminium Falcon and escape the clutches of the Intergalactic Empire!

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, a simple Asteroids style game which is in no way derivative of anything.

Created using HTML Canvas and Javascript (no game libraries used).

Controls: either use the two-button mouse control scheme or arrow keys and space bar.

P to pause and M to mute

Music:
"Space Fighter Loop"
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#498Fun(Jam)3.18
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65
#832Graphics(Jam)2.76
#890Theme(Jam)3.12
#1922Coolness33%

Comments

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

difficult to aim when moving, but you did it. well done.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:33am

Cool game! Really liked the music.

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:56am

It is good game! Thanks for web version!
"dare wars" - ))))))

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Fun, but don't let Lucasarts lawyers see it ;)

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51pm

I managed to find only one enemy and tons of asshole rocks ruining my space-ace style. It's extremely hard to avoide them while speeding through the space. :D
Congrats on the finished game!

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10am

Nice ! Its an interesting gameplay. It would have been even better with a little reactor animation or trail for the ships, it would be easier to understand movement.
Very nice anyway. Interface is cool too.

Nicolas Gass says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35pm

5/5 Fun!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:27am

Why did you opt out of the humor category. I like a good spoof :D

Couldn't for the life of me find any enemies though.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:30am

This was an interesting game to play. I didn't really feel threatened by the enemies. The rocks tended to do more damage than anything. But a really nice attempt at a game. Some more refinement would see it do even better.

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:22pm

The game is nice, but to hard for me. I didn't manage to destroy an enemy, but got crushed often by asteriods. Maybe some indicators on the screen would help to know in which direction asteriods and enemies are.

Null DIES says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Why did you disable the "Humor" rating category? I wanted to give you 4 stars is that :D
Anyways, nice game for plain old HTML Canvas in 72 hours, I tried that before myself (without time constraints) and it was a pain.

Rustam says ...
Apr 27, 2017 @ 10:08am

Optimized notification presentation within application. http://fastdownloadtoptorrent.ru And of course, one of the most important features to many during this pre-NDP phase: e-Ticketing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]