Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Strafe Showdown

by siege - Compo Entry

In the middle of the desert, two combatants face each other with guns at their sides, strafing around each other in a heated battle!

Strafe Showdown is submitted under the Two-Button Controls theme. You only have two buttons: jump and shoot! With four playable characters, you can play with a friend or on your own against a computer opponent.

It's much more fun to duel your friends though!

Check the character select in both modes for controls, and check the Help menu for further information!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#298Humor2.77
#316Mood3.22
#431Audio2.73
#483Innovation3.15
#514Theme3.69
#526Graphics3.00
#667Fun2.89
#709Overall2.97

Comments

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:10am

Local multiplayer is a cool idea, the constant landscape turning was hard to look at after a while.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

Fun little game, but can be hard to look at with all the spinning, haha. When both players jump and shot do they hit each other? I couldn't tell. More player feedback is prob needed.

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Lots of fun as local multiplayer. Looks great and the music fits nicely.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:28am

I liked how you implemented the two-button theme. I liked trying all of the different characters. I played with myself on local (I can imagine how this could be fun with a friend). Nice job!

illblew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Nice work, saw your tweet and was hoping to shoot the hat off. Was not dissapoint. /me spins

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

Nice work on the art and gameplay! Makes me really dizzy though, maybe some blurring / simplification in the background would help reduce this. Nice work!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

Neat idea, though it might give some people a bit of motion sickness. The different characters are nice, and I like that it isn't a rock-paper-scissors setup for character selection.

By the way, did you actually play through the whole of my game? If not, DO. From your comment, I get the feeling you played the first sixty seconds or so and assumed the game never moved on from that.
If you have played through the whole game, do tell me, because I'm trying to convey certain things and if literally none of them come across, then I've done some things very badly, and need to learn from that.
Hope you get back to me at some point.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

Great job! I really enjoyed the audio and the graphics were also well done.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31am

It's a fun little game. It's really easy to win if you play as Lucky (one hit shots versus the Mystic).
I really enjoyed it though.
Nice job!

Halleflux says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Alright, thanks for your re-review of my game. I guess I'm just completely inept at making anything that tries to have any depth.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

local multiplayer shoot and jump(or defend) in the old west i realy enjoyed the lucky character is the best one =D nice job!

tweedle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17am

My favorite part was the character selection and different abilities.

GreyEcho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31am

Very much like the idea and the option for multiplayer. The character selection is a nice touch as well. Perhaps add a 'Random' option if someone can't decide which character to pick? Also, if I had to make one change, it would be in the visibility of the bullets, either making them larger or slower so that it's easier to react to them as a player. Nice work though. I enjoyed this.

Feel the Bern.

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:19am

This game was pretty fun, but I couldn't help but feel dizzy after not too long.

juaxix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Thanks for playing my game, I've tested yours but i dont understand the gameplay and controls, i got a little bit dizzy, i would like to have a mode like in the Call of Juarez duels :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20am

I don't know what just happened to me. :D fun, nice health bars man!

deadpixl says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Really liked the concept, It would of been cool to have a dash or something besides jump. Also background was spinning pretty fast and like others had said it got a bit dizzying. Awesome game though, had fun playing it.

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:01am

the game is pretty nice, but also really easy

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:40am

As player 2 it is hard to see your status bars. This feels like it was inspired by dive-kick, but it just felt like mashing buttons was the way to go instead of the strategy that emerged in dive kick.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:59am

The Mystic doesn't look very magical.

-Alex

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

the bullets could be a bit bigger and have brighter or darker color (so the player can see them better), but overall nice little game! nice work!

shar says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:09am

Good!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]