Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Are you grown?

by Rfdshir - Compo Entry

This is a small game made in 5 hours, including graphics. I tried to combine both themes. So, this is a game about growing up. To control, use only two keys - Y and N.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#262Mood3.31
#399Humor2.53
#418Theme3.81
#418Graphics3.21
#433Innovation3.22
#672Audio1.75
#814Overall2.80
#917Fun2.24

Comments

Acerio says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:14pm

BEST GAME 2015! VOTING THE SECOND I SUBMIT AN ENTRY!!! <33

Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Interesting idea.. but these answers are kind of disturbing.. o.O

Rogod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:15am

What was that?
That's more of a curious art project than a game...
Also could use some work on the wording/spelling. :(

Skywilly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30am

Good visual idea !

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42am

I dunno why, but this game feels like a bad horror film.

gmisail says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:51am

Interesting idea, however I agree with Rogod when he said this is more of a curious art project

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:52am

A few minutes staring at that face has made me feel a little weird. But wow! I just loved this experience.

Broivula says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59am

Cool idea! Really liked the sculpting! Made it to 19, then died of an infection.

Nice lighting, too. Made the sculpture really stand out.

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19am

That was... disturbing in a lot of way.
I liked it.

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37am

That was weird. I like it, but dislike it at the same time. The concept is great, but I'm not a big fan of pressing buttons on the keyboard. Graphic style is ok, but text looks really default.

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07am

Pretty cool with a nice idea. The model was really scary xD. Cant you help me with Exporting Unity games to web?

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:08am

Damn! It's hard not to die, unless you want the most boring life ever.

Nice depressing yet fun game.

Andrew says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:13am

Is there any way to avoid the war scenario?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:23am

You should rename this to "are youcreepedoutbytheguymadeofclay yet?"

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26am

WOW! Interactive and fun. Very interesting sir.

gironC says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:33am

That was disturbing...
I LOVE IT!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50am

Well that was quite unique! :) God do I hate growing old lol
Great job!

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53am

This felt like an interactive short film. Well done!

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07am

Jeeeeez, I don't wanna die of cancer...

"But you die."

Ah okay fine.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:09am

Have to admit it's quite unique ^^

nystical says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:11am

Interesting, also slightly creepy

Ethan Allwood says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

Not really a game...

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26am

Interesting game...Not entirely sure what to make of it, to be honest!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Great idea. How did you make the graphics? Photos?

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Interesting idea, but doesn't feel fleshed out.

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44am

Consensus here is that it's super cool. How did you make the images? Actual pictures of a clay model?

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45am

Pace too slow.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

are you old enough to not be a creepy clay man ?? NOOO!!!!

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Interesting idea, and also kinda creepy. Nicely done!

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:42am

Interesting! Very unsettling

candlesan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Great work for only 5 hours!

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:50am

Nice nihilistic noir :)

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Cool idea. I like the clay figure; real creepy. Also, good job covering both themes. I feel like I would've enjoyed it more if it were a little faster.

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:09am

That's my life in a nutshell. Awesome content :)

parias001 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46am

Well, this is something. It's really great, I liked the atmosphere, simple and direct!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:55am

Thanks guys! I really expected more harsh comments) I'm glad many of you liked it. Overall, your perception matches what I wanted to do - a little uncomfortable not-game about the meaning of life... In a way)
I apologize if the text looks ugly - I'm not good at English, this is largely a Google-translation.
Answering the questions - yes, graphics made from photos of plasticine model.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55am

This is just great. Innovative game with funny questions and results. I laughed when I played the game for the first time and died when using drugs. I did not see that coming.

Audio is pretty annoying, would be better without it.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30am

a great idea!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44am

Nice concept, maybe one of the best

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22am

Wow, that was quite the experience. The head is giving me nightmares man. Thank you for this strange trip. Great work!

felilix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Wow that's pretty experimental! I said no to everything and lived to the leathery old 86 yrs old kicking the bucket.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

This game is excellent! The events that occur are really realistic and sometimes hilariously so. Pat yourself on the shoulder, yo!

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:48pm

well done :D

Silvio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:50pm

nice idea. slow pace though.
Its known that noses never stop growing but this is hilarious.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Disturbing and creepy. I like it.

Quite an experimental idea.

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Weird, even more the end, and its a little weird having sex before kiss, lol

Thembi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

85 is too young to die!

argowen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:41pm

regardless of whether I wanted to go to war I went to war and died. Would die again.

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Cool use of clay graphic. I died of drugs.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:50pm

nice, very interesting and moody, good replayability because you want to know all possible combinations. Well done

Tsundown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Could have been a lot more promising with more polish, more choices (more impactful ones), faster aging, music and better sounds. Great concept and has that potential to become a unique game

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

that was an interesting experience, thanks

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Is there only one question that I need to answer yes?:)

jacobturn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

GREAT,AMAZING,CREEPY,BEST GAME IN SECONDS

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

The mood was kinda disturbing, which I liked. The sound was maybe a bit irritating. Overall an interesting idea, but it needs an element to speed it up a bit.

Zer0li says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:38pm

A bit slow but still fun

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Great game! Very dark, which is nice to see.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Interesting take on the theme! The bong sound as the age increased started to give me the creeps. But good for you for making something different! Not what I was expecting at all. I like that it's a little different every time. Made it to my mid 80's. I wasn't grown enough to die, but I did anyway.

Chewie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Visuals are interesting, but game lacks some flow and timing between the question/answer/next question.

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Well, nice experience but not really a "game" ^^

LittleThor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

What the hell did I just played?!
Awesome idea and modeling! Not sure what to think about the "gamplay", but very it's a neat concept!

Zanthia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Seeing the age increasing is so dreadful ! I like the evolution of the character.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Nice, this is a funny one and interesting to play.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Quite interesting artsy interactive thing. I like these sort of things, even though the "fun" is maybe a bit lacking.

The clay heads look very good. Cool idea!

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

This game is being rude to me...

Acerio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Loved this game and shared it with a bunch of friends. I played this game yesterday and couldn't wait to vote today.

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

So my first play through I got to age 71 then died of old age alone, never drank, smoked, kissed, had sex or got married nor did I have a job.

My second playthrough I tried drugs, got married and died from cancer at age 35. WTF! LOL!

This is a very original game with a much deeper meaning. I don't know if you intended for that but I do applaud you for making it.

I can agree with some of the other feed back about the spelling also there is a question that says "Print Y or N". sorry I can't remember which question it was.

caryoscelus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

Using unity for this? *Triple facepalm*

Otherwise, it's kind of interesting for something made in 5 hours.

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

Most of the questions follow the format "Do you want the good thing?" That isn't an interesting choice to make.

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Well, thanks a lot for all comments and opinions! You are awesome, guys ^_^
It's really interesting to read the feedback. I glad that my little experiment became successful in your eyes (as far as I can tell), despite all the flaws. I think i'll make a remake soon, just have to find a good translator to English)

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Thought this game was actually kinda funny just because of it's arbitrary nature and grammar errors. Certainly an interesting idea with a little more visual feedback.

local306 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Cool concept of aging. I wish I could advance the years myself rather than having to wait through it though...

Elenesski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:22pm

I found the thing to be rather sad. People are far more resilient than a Yes/No question system.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

I really like how the clay figure changes or 'grows', but I don't feel there is much replay-ability to be had once you have gone through it once. It feels more like an art project than a game, but there's nothing wrong with that.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00pm

A good idea! And gotta love the evolution of your sculpture :) Perfectly fits both theme!

Suaave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Interesting approach to the theme. I like your clay sculpting and enjoyed trying out the different outcomes.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22pm

This is creepy AF!
It creates a dark, brooding mood, which really works well. While this not might be a traditional game, it moves people so I guess it's a succes! :)

Well done!

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I liked the sculpture and its aging a lot! Text and audio could use some work though.

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Really moody stuff in here :)

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Very cool clay graphics. Interesting questions. I died in war :/

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:24am

It was the most different game I have played and it did have interesting responses, but there was a bit of a creepy aspect to it. I am a little worried if I don't keep showing this game to people the Clay Man will come after me...and as long as they play and complete the game my life will be spared... Anybody? Anybody else feel that way??? lol

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:55am

@SHLFStudios, )))))))

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Very interesting, I love the choice of sculpture as the medium for your graphics and how expressive you made the head/face as it ages. It would be interesting to see some variation in that depending on the choices you make, though I can see that becoming difficult very quickly. I found this both depressing and uplifting -- which I'm guessing was intentional. So for that, awesome job!

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Really funny game haha

Dejvo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:34pm

awesome game. loved the clay and the cheeky humor (or was it not humor? )

Farelle says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:01pm

I have to say that I wasn't so happy about some of the answers. But maybe it was meant to be provocative, didn't leave me with a good feeling though :o

Adreqi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Died before 40 on first try, got to 87 on second try. Sums up quite well the randomness of life x)

This game is pretty disturbing.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:14pm

An entire life directed by only two buttons. Nice idea. A simple, slow and interesting game, not bad for a 5 hours making. :)

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:25pm

Interesting idea. The years between the questions makes you think about life and choices you made. Would be great if the model were more complex i.e. with hair and I would like to see a few stop motion animations.

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Great graphics and an original take on the theme. I didn't manage to tease out if there was sort of better or worse paths through the game, which I think, for the purpose of the effect the game tries to evoke was nice. I didn't much care for the audio. The sound of a clock could have been a simple replacement. More interestingly to have sparse sounds from the different stages of life as one progresses through. The game, true or not, kind of teaches you to say no to certain questions about death and I liked the twist that one of them gave. But it would also be nice to play that twist the other way around. As for the questions. Graphically, I think another font would have suited better. To fit the style better. To me too, life isn't all or sometimes not even much about the types of questions your game poses, but much more trivial and mundane questions. It would have been nice to have these in too. I liked the entry, good job.

Radnap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:04pm

I found it creepy and disturbing. Didn't play until the end (if there is one?) but couldn't see the purpose or the message behind it all. Kind of disliked it but must confess the clay idea is pretty good and could render well.

kabel says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:18pm

It was original, that's for sure. With slightly more work this could be very good. The questions need to be updated or clarified (and new should be added) and the visuals and the sound could've been enhanced. Otherwise, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]