Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

2 Roll

by lawendt - Jam Entry

2 Roll is about two separate souls faded to pass through doors wich are only opened by their eternal partner.
How long can you delay the inevitable?
Keep falling through the plataforms and don't let anyone reach the thorns at the top.
There are two buttons, left and right
Right open the doors at the left side and rotate it anticlockwise
Left open the doors on the right side and rotate it clockwise

Ps.:checkout the other games by Unda
Broto - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=65369
PizzTack - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=65338

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#91Innovation(Jam)3.83
#156Mood(Jam)3.73
#158Theme(Jam)4.09
#223Audio(Jam)3.54
#245Overall(Jam)3.62
#247Graphics(Jam)3.94
#427Fun(Jam)3.25
#759Humor(Jam)2.14

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Best game of the year 10/10.

digi_killer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Beautiful & Entertaining =D.

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Cool idea although I find it way too hard. I can't get more than 22 seconds...

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Great art design, but I couldn't make it very far.

NoOneJeremy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:56pm

It's a little bit tricky to get used, but then it gets too easy, I guess...

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

You've one the internet for at least 15 minutes. Great little game. would be great time waster on phone where you use tilting to control it. Excellent Job! Only issue I had is there either was no sound, it was to quiet to be heard, or the sound was broken for me.

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12am

It's pretty difficult but compels you to retry. The art and sound are very atmospheric. Loved the cog sound in particular.

keepee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

Pretty good idea actually. I thought the trap doors were random at first before I realized it was linked to the left/right keys. Once I got the hang of it, it felt like I could play indefinitely though, is there any difficulty increasing?
The doors should stand out from the background more

lawendt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07am

Yes, the difficulty increases~
Thanks for the advice!
And we have plans to do a mobile build.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38pm

The game is beautiful looking and the music is very nice too. Well done there! However, I find the game to be too hard, I couldn't get very far :(

StrehFox says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58am

I like this. I kinda wish the controls were reverse for rotating, they seem backwards to me.

Bastionride says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:05am

Rebel Rebel, how could they know? ♪

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:06pm

nice gameplay, very original

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Great mood and music. Theme idea is good. Gameplay was a little fiddley. Overall a solid entry. Well done.

rockford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Reached 111 seconds with some fun :)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43pm

I liked the iea a lot, but I think it's too hard in the beggining... It's easy to learn how it goes, but difficult to make it further than 3 or 4 plattforms.

Anyway, nice one!

Bastionride says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Don't ya?
Doo doo doo-doo doo doo doo doo

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40pm

seems hard at first but you pick it up real quick. good.

shatty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:52pm

It's great!

Umm... Is a cheat press both buttons?

cescababs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Great original concept, really neat controls.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06am

Wow. Very compelling. Nice art, nice gameplay, and very hard (in a good way)! Nice job!

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:06am

Amazing mood here! I loved the art and music style. The gameplay was certainly unique but lacked fine control. If the doors toggled rather than only opened when you pressed the button, I think it would be better. Overall, an impressive entry. Well done!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Really cool entry. Love the art style (somewhat victorian; reminds me of Edward Gorey illustrations). Well polished. Conratulations :)

PS.: Was able to survive 57s.

RevelBase says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I loved the Game. Played several times. Sweet backgroundstory and gothic mood :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:17am

Amazing sound and graphics, and a great take on the theme - but as others have said, really, really hard.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:01am

Damn this game is hard! I had a really tough time getting through more than 2 doors before the thorns got me.

Really cool concept and a great mood. Despite me sucking, I had a good time and would totally play an 'easier at the start' version some more :)

felixreeve says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Could definitely do without the gaps only being open sometimes! (was about to say it seems weird they're randomly open but just re-read the description)... So after playing and understanding that they open when I press the correct button I actually lasted 72 seconds, so much better when you get it! Solid entry, although I reckon lots of people won't pick up on that bit of the game and might mark you a little harshly!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:28am

This game is super hard. I'm not ambidextrous enough to make it much past 30 seconds. Super awesome idea, art and music! :-)

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Nice mood. Very hard with the disappearing platforms. I think they should just be holes, at least at first.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Thanks everyone for the advices, we are really looking forward to create a nice story for the game and to amplify its mechanics. I'll leave a comment in each one of your games. Thanks for stopping by, fellow developers! - Jeremias.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice :) Kind of had to rearrange my brain to play it. Love the art style as well.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:29am

Game is great but the difficulty was too extreme for me!

akirassasin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:36am

It is very fun and challenging, but sometimes it gets very frustrating and you just mash the buttons in rage :P

adsilcott says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:37am

Cool idea! Really challenging but I started to get good at it after a while! Also the music and graphics fit each other really well.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:21am

Nice interpretation of the themes. Hard but challenging game, and polished realisation. Good job. :)

VascoF says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:28am

Lasted 143 seconds! Great idea and visuals, well done.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

I like that you focused on the "two" part of the two-buttons and implemented two in the mechanic as well. Nice meditative music. Simple gameplay, but entertaining nonetheless.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Great art and music! Loved the mood of the game but found it a bit too difficult/not really responsive enough and it was on the boundary of frustrating than fun for me.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:47pm

I liked the idea! But didn't play much because it's not clear when the holes will be open next time (seems random)

lawendt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Be sure to check the descriptions, all the informations about the gameplay is in there since the upload of the game! - Jeremias

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:14am

Good for you! graphic and atmosphere are good!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great mechanics, quite addictive! I think you shouild this port to the mibile platfroms, it is a nice time killer.
You should introduce the bouncy surface a bit earlier because If I understand it correctly, most players don't get past 60 seconds.
My record is 161 seconds.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Also, don't listen to those who say that controld are unresponsible. They're just OK.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

*unresponsive

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:17pm

One more note. The "instructions" section is overloaded with informatiuon. I tried to figure out the controls by reading tutorial but didn't understand nothing.
Then I just pressed PLAY and figured out everything in 3 seconds, just by pressing A/D. Playing it with one hand.

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Very cool atmosphere and very creative gameplay.
Well done.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Gorgeous entry, everything was perfect. Really simple game (a bit difficult), it fit so well in theme. Congrats, one of the best!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Excellent entry! The concept is excellent, it would work great on mobile phone! Great job ;)

PS: the game is not too hard, it is as hard as it should be ;)

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Awesome work!! I got 82 seconds ;) The art and sounds are great and establish quite an atmosphere. Overall the game plays really well and is quite fun!

I feel like the controls are backwards than what I would have expected, which might have made it unnecessarily difficult to get used to... but I do really love the unique door mechanic you have.

Not that it makes any difference on your score, but I noticed you misspelled "platforms" a couple times.

Good game!

Jan 9, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Cool game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/yY4Ylj7ccuc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]