Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

MapleCopter

by TheBreakfast - Jam Entry

Point your mouse in the direction you would like to fly. Left Click to float. Avoid spikes, and guide your maple seed to the clear patch of grass at the end of the levels.

Hint: take it slow and click in bursts.

The team:
Game Design, Code, and some art by Jacob Carewick
@jakecarewick

Music by Geoff Coran:
https://soundcloud.com/geoff-coran/etheral-nostalgia-track
www.youtube.com/channel/UCdedz5NIY0ccIf05blbT6Ug

This is my first LD jam entry, and my first game jam ever. Always wanted to do this, so I'm glad I did! Thanks for playing!

Various graphics and sound from:
http://opengameart.org/content/forest-themed-sprites
http://opengameart.org/content/large-forest-background
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Pointing_hand_cursor_vector.svg
https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Left_clicked_mouse.svg
http://opengameart.org/content/atari-booms

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#181Mood(Jam)3.67
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#349Fun(Jam)3.37
#422Humor(Jam)2.80
#455Overall(Jam)3.38
#482Innovation(Jam)3.19
#566Graphics(Jam)3.35
#942Theme(Jam)2.96

Comments

dignifiedweb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Great game!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Really great game! pretty shourt though. Could you imagine if the seeds in real life had to dodge spikes before they get the change to grow? that'd be funny.

crazya02 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

A fun little game, though only tangentially related to the themes.

hcosta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11am

Really good concept. First levels could be easier but nice entry anyway! :D

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

Thanks for the feedback! I planned on implementing a growing animation to make it more related to the theme, but I was a little pressed for time :)

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14am

I like it! Would be really neat to have some sort of spinning animation for the copter

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

I was sad thta the maple wasn't rotating on itself :-(

Good execution overall, keep it up ! :)

mr. a says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24am

Dagnabbit. I like the theme and the look of this, but I don't have Windows.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21am

Thanks anyways Mr.A! Glad you stopped by to take a look :)

Enchae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59am

Sad that it was so short, but you definitely did some things right in that short span.

The atmosphere was awesome, very calming and serene. But if you didn't make the music you shouldn't be judged in that category ;) Just sayin'.

Solid entry.

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22am

Thanks for the feedback! I didn't make the music, but a friend of mine made it specifically for me to use in a game jam. Admittedly the music was made before the jam though.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05am

The game looks great. Controls feel game. I wish you'd led me through the level a little more, but overall it was fun.

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:29am

Really great game! I'd love to play this with more levels. The controls were nice, simple, and easy to grasp. Some interesting and challenging levels could come from it. Only thing is I am not sure how this ties to the theme...

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Nice little relaxing experience :)

Allthebees says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Really nice game! I really enjoyed the control and design of the levels. Felt easy to learn but hard to master, would love to play more levels. The music was great too.

Maybe the lives should be seeds rather than hearts if we're getting technical with anatomy :p

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:47am

Great idea Allthebees! Thanks for the feedback!

Indiestry says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:25am

Well done!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:33am

Fun game! Reminds a lot of the Lunar Landing game. The controls were spot on and were very intuitive. The graphics and music also served the product well. Good Job!

rd127p77 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:49pm

This game was great, it was not too long but not to short. The graphics were okay which is fine. And the music fit the game perfectly. Good Work!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:05am

Not bad, but the levels felt like they were bigger than necessary for what you trying to do, and restarting from the beginning after a failure was annoying.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:51am

Lovely music and fun gameplay. Kinda needed another button to fit the theme though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]