Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

EcoSim

by flatline - Compo Entry

This is inspired by game of life, but more complex. You can edit the terrain, but plants will die without water and the like.
Also animals will show up where life is good, but you have no control.
This is part "get as many animals as you can", part simulation sandbox.
left click: place tile
right click (use space in the web player): change tile to place
mouse wheel: zoom
wasd: move camera

Everything is in:
https://moritzbellach.de/owncloud/index.php/s/biYt0nhCGTPKGrc?path=%2F
builds in the "submit" folder

Made with unity, just if you wonder about the src directory.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

"There is no data folder" when launching the linux_64.

flatline says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

Yeah, the upload wasn't finished, sorry about that, should be all there now.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

interesting and creative, I like the concept but it lacks more specific goals (i.e get at least x bunnies and y fishes, or something like that)

paulfysh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I couldn't get it to change tile? it always placed grass. Also wasn't entirely sure what I was meant to be doing I'm afraid.

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Mine was always placing water. I get that the goal for this version is just to get as many animals as possible, but maybe some specific goals and scenarios (if you continue to work on it) would help. At the least it needs a score of animals currently present.

RIDBers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Thanks for the effort of developing this for this Ludum DAre edition. I would improve the graphics, they are so simple. I would like also it has audio.
Keep on working!!
Laura - RIDBers programmer

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Interesting game concept, with good graphics. I would like to see some animations, audio and a tutorial integrated into the game.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 6:39pm

While I couldn't figure out exactly what to do, playing the windows version worked where the web version was hit and miss about switching tiles (worked perfectly in the executable). I spent about 10 minutes fooling around with different tiles ... was fun watching results but would love a better explanation of what tile should do what

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]