Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Big and Go Home

by MikeTsunami - Jam Entry

LudumDare 34 entry for both the "Two Button Controls" and "Growing" themes. Play as a worm trying to return home while avoiding crows and picking up DNA sequences that allow you to evolve and grow body parts!

Controls:
- Right key to move right
- Space key to perform action

Tools:
- Engine: Unity
- 2D Graphics: PicoEDITOR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#231Fun(Jam)3.53
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#272Humor(Jam)3.13
#370Mood(Jam)3.39
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#497Innovation(Jam)3.17
#631Graphics(Jam)3.22

Comments

personalurban says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Great work. Loved it.

Cracking music too!

Dinomode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:42am

I like the idea and its awesome! Should of thought of this.

samreid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:33am

Nicely done!

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:02am

Super cute! I loved that you used the PICO-8 to make art. It makes the game so much better for me.

When the crow double-backed on me, I got a bit frustrated since I didn't see it coming, but overall I liked how the DNA changed me as I went.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05am

Good graphics. Really fun game. Liked how the audio evolved as the game progressed. I also liked that the player didn't just stop when I released the key, that made it a bit harder too. Great game.

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Enjoyable game, but the lag at the end of pressing right was pretty frustrating to me. Made it feel imprecise.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice job!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

Great little game! Took a few tries to learn timings, and cursed a bit when I died before climbing the tree :)

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

That's quite cute. also incredibly art for me :p

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

Nice pixel graphics! I apparently don't have the reflexes to even get past the first two horizontal birds. =P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Very, hard, and the complete reset on death is super harsh.

Some cute ideas though, and the music is nice.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Cute game! Music fit the graphics well and the gameplay is good. I enjoyed it!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Nice game. Simple but funny!

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

love the music!, the mechanics are simple but solid, very hard and challenging game, good job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Catching game with cute graphics. Liked it :)

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Fun game but was there music? I couldn't hear anything...(Fire Fox)

Loneshark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Ignore my last comment about the music as I'm having issues with my sound card in general. I'll re-rate you.

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

This “sliding” is so evil.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:35am

Nice game. I liked the development of different body parts. I wish there where checkpoints along the way.

Keelan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Really great music. Enjoyed the game, the character did "slide" more than I expected when you release the key though. Loved it though :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Love the concept and the music is perfect. Really great idea to use the "dna" to grow the abilities of the player. Nice work!

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Fun game, but I didn't have the patience to get past the jumping section. Checkpoints at each powerup would have really helped with the flow. The music was great though, and I loved the concept!

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19pm

The jumping section is bugged, and sometimes makes you unable to move right before the end. Otherwise, nice graphics and pretty good gameplay.

Pusty says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:08am

Neat!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:18am

Very cool. The fairly significant momentum/slow deceleration on the character adds a lot, I think. I liked the frequent new abilities, and though the difficulty was pretty reasonable, though it's definitely annoying to restart from the very beginning.

scorched says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:01pm

The game is cool until you get legs! After that it is hard to avoid even the very first spikes!

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Great game. Really enjoyed it. Loved the low res art and the use of both themes :)

Congrats

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Cute little game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

Big Cow says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Hehe I liked this it reminded me of games on the c64. I liked the upgrades and the simple addictive gameplay. Nice job!

andrewkennedy says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Nice simple idea, the space key changing kept it from getting stale.

Wish it didn't take so long to get back where you were after you died, it started feeling a little frustrating.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:43pm

How I miss checkpoints... ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]