Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Matsoj's Planet Defender

by matiz982 - Compo Entry

Hello. It's my first Ludum Dare. I want to share my game for you. I'm going to make better games than that. I want to participate in next Ludum Dares. I hope you will have fun with my game :) HAVE FUN!


Mouse - aiming
LMB - red
RMB - blue

Tools used :
Game Maker: Studio
GraphicsGale
Gimp 2.8
Bfrx

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#590Graphics2.90
#658Overall3.03
#683Fun2.87
#778Innovation2.60
#793Theme3.27

Comments

Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:14pm

It's an interesting concept and I like it. However, it gets really tough as soon as the second moon appears. Maybe that's the point of it though. Good job :D

Noah says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

Cool idea, fast paced and fun!

Akhera says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Good concept, but the difficulty ramps up way too fast. Also, is it just the sound or are the shots slightly delayed?

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Insteresting game, maybe a a bit difficult

Zulgot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Fun action packed game - enjoyed it!

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Very nice concept! Keep it up!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:05am

Simple and fun. Nice job!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Simple but interesting concept, quite a huge difference in difficulty between the two levels.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:47pm

This game looks quite simple, but it is very well made. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/l1a-s63Ve1s

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

That’s nice! pretty colours, good mechanic.

phi says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:56am

Good concept while keeping the controls simple. The 'shoot on mouse up' is a bit counter-intuitive, but it works. As an increase in difficulty, I rather expected there to be a new gameplay element than just increasing speed, maybe that's something to think about for a post-compo version? Overall, solid entry, no bugs, good job!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:41am

nice game

SamH says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:00pm

It’s a bit hard for me, as I use a TrackPoint instead of a mouse :) But it’s clean and polished, congrats.

kardfogu says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:03pm

Nice entry, keep up the good work!

- Kardfogú

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:30am

Cool game, good job guys

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:03am

Core mechanic of shooting is really hard. It requires perfect aiming and perfect timing. It is not usual for shooters.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:08am

it's hard (maybe a bit bigger collision box would be nice) but it makes fun! well done :)

Sosolol261 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:20am

Nice concept! Only if the enemy ships had a bigger bounding box...

jcwelgemoed says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:42am

As other said, quite difficult, but fun. Great work for a first Ludum Dare.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]