Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chomp

by Raius - Jam Entry

A stupid thing I threw together. For my first proper attempt at a game I'm pretty happy with it, even considering how janky and broken the boss fight is :)

No art or music was done by me and everything is royalty free (oh except for the shark player, that was my sister, who is awesome).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Fun(Jam)3.50
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

im-oab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42am

I like it when shark grow up, I don't need to play anymore because all the fish run into his mouth. :)

p.s. please put it on itch.io or something. so, player doesn't need to download.

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35am

The shark is suprising! And so am I!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Haha this is great for a first time entry. The boss fight might have been better if it didn't move out of the screen but just up and down. I really liked the pacing and although I know you didn't make it, you chose a really suitable song. Overall well done!

Nizan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I enjoyed that. It was pretty solid, and good fun, especially for a first proper attempt at a game! It was a shame that the boss (which made me jump!) got stuck off the screen else I'd have marked a bit higher. The shark is very cute too! :)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Big fish eats small fish, what a great growing interpretation for the game! Cool experience, starts kinda hard but gets ultra satisfactory when you're a big shark and just can eat everything. Boss fight is hard as hell! Great effort, not bad at all for a one man first game attempt. Congratulations!

davisan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Very nice! The boss battle was intense! Really good! Nice idea to shrink the boss. The music fits well. Well done! :D

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Good game even without finished boss battle! If it's your first time it is perfect! Theme of feeding - that's what i like!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:38pm

That's some frantic music. Has a boss and a working mechanic. What more can you want from a 1st time entry? Cute shark.

coldman says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Haha that one is a funny one :D Like it! For me it looks like a mashup between agar.io and space invader: well done !

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:55am

Cool entry.
It plays pretty well and music and artstyle are a perfect match to the game.

Hackbug says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:29pm

FUCKING EPIC !!!!!!!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Awesome! Amazing job for a first entry!

I kinda like how the boss moves around crazily :D

radmars says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 7:44am

Very solid take on the theme, and nice touch with the mines to keep you on your toes even during late-game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]