Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Boxage 263

by swellbastion - Compo Entry

This game is mostly about box physics and acceleration. It's mostly me figuring out some 2d physics. I really enjoyed making the levels stupidly hard.

For best results use chrome. The audio doesn't work on safari. Other browsers may have problems.

controls:
z: accelerate
x: jump
r: reset level

how to die:
crash into something hard
fall into a far away place
touch the death glitch

For people asking, a red block lets you destroy a solid block/wall if you crash into it fast enough. And also gives you a boost.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#569Humor2.17
#573Audio2.42
#759Theme3.33
#768Fun2.70
#834Mood2.19
#867Innovation2.35
#876Graphics2.04
#904Overall2.59
#1391Coolness49%

Comments

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13am

Much too hard.
Annoying sounds.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

It's pretty challenging. I think the game would be a lot better if the camera was zoomed out a little more. It is hard to see what is far in front of you when you are moving fast, so having better visibility would help.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

I liked the graphical effect when you die (I know it well at this point). I was a little confused when I started, so maybe in your next rendition include more tutorial. Also, I read that you love making extremely hard levels, and I can confirm that they are extremely hard: so much so that I couldn't get past the first one. Despite this I enjoyed the game. It feels like a game that could be popular on the App Store. Good work!

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

So I find it funny how you got stuck on my game and I just happened to get stuck against a wall in yours as well. Anyway cool concept, kind of reminds of "Thomas was alone" for some reason. Jump sound perhaps?

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:21am

Premise is good, though the level design is quite frustrating; I think the zoom out suggestion from trueboolean is a good one. The sound seems to stutter too despite being on chrome, not sure if a bug on my end or it's just how the sounds are.

Also, what's the purpose of the red box?

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:25am

Really hard! And I'm not sure what happened when I turned orange. Nice entry.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06am

Controls felt clunky and the audio was annoying. There are certainly some interesting concepts in here for a platformer.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

the sounds too loud for me, i kinda dig the gameplay, very challenging
but yeah, the only complain i can think of is the sounds

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

The pitterpatter when you run is lovely. I love the humour in it!

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

Interesting game. Hard to figure out what is going on, but maybe that is part of the charm.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49am

The words "stupidly hard" really really suits the game.
The audio fits the level very well, cuz it's killing me too! haha!

barret907k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:17am

Much too hard

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:50am

The 2D physics are too sensitive, to be honest. Other than that, I think it would make a great mobile game!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:31am

Managed to beat the game. Man, this game is unforgiving and unintuitive... Definitely a challenge.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

man that was really tough, would like it if it slowly introduce tougher and tougher challenges, I felt like the first stage was a little too rough, but it was fun!

and I can definitely see people who like really tough games get a kick out of this, great job for 48 hours! :)

NoradZero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:49am

Too hard.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I also know the sound of dying pretty well.. and this staircase in the first level (!) will haunt me through my nightmares :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]