Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Only two ways

by blackbird806 - Compo Entry

Only two ways
A game by blackbird806. Made in 48h for the Ludum Dare #34 themes were : growing, two buttons controls.
if you have an english keyboard(QWERTY) use shift + ctrl to change it in AZERTY (if you need it).


Instructions:Use Q and D to move. Yellow orbs replace your last input by a jump (for example if you take the orb by the right you'll not be able to go on
the right with D but you'll can jump with this key)
The red orb use the sames mecanics but with another power.
The blue orb resets your keys to moving; so be sure to always take a blue orb if you want to take another power.
/!\note: if you don't take the blue orb red and yellow orbs will be ineffective.
The purpule orb create another playable block which have reverse controls.
The arrows desacivates/reactivates gravity.
The blue/red/green walls can be ignore by the block with the same colour.

softwares used:
Game maker studio
sfxr

ps: It's my first gamejam and I'm a novice in game developpement.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#78Innovation3.92
#233Theme4.00
#292Overall3.48
#352Fun3.32
#489Humor2.35
#818Mood2.29

Comments

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:26am

Clever little puzzle game. The intro levels are fairly straightforward. Only real complaint with gameplay is that mistakes at the end of a level seemed easy to make, and then you were forced to replay the whole level.

blackbird806 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Thank you very much for your feedback!!!
I hope you have spent a good time while playing my game, I'll test your's soon.

RadStar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Very interesting gameplay !
Very clever as MorseAmalgam said, liked it a lot.
Next time add some music and some art and you could do a very cool game :p

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Really nice concept! It tends to get too difficult too soon, especially because you have to restart if you get stuck sometimes. but the levels are designed very well!

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Very clever use of theme and level design. Nice work.

narve says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

It was a good concept, and the engine was mostly well-implemented. The control switching was a little buggy, however. Also, the level design was a bit lacking. I feel like this could have been used to do some interesting puzzles, but that wasn't really done.

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Interesting, after reading instructions controls and mechanics seemed to be vague, but while playing the game it turned out to be quite intuitive. Congrats.

Auroz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Fun, challenging puzzle platformer. Felt a tiny bit unpolished. It also felt a bit weird to use Q and D for controls instead of left and right or A and D.

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Interesting gameplay, fun game but can be a bit confusing. :)

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Very interesting concept using the theme's contraints to make a very little funny puzzle game.
Good job !

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Liked the concept a lot! level design is great to! had good time playing it

realbogart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Great game! One of my favourites so far! The bonus level was impossible?

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:57pm

"Because now it's the same but invisible" lol

Really a brain-twister to have to think about your inputs changing. Would love to see this mechanic expanded upon. Goes great with a little fourth-wall breaking humor.

Awesome work.

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:01am

This is a really cool concept and it should be improved on. I would like to see more done with this. Also for some reason when I fired lots of projectiles when picking up the red orb the game crashed.

johnnwfs says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I see this as an awesome example of a prototype gameplay / level design game. The graphic quality belies the clever level design. Splitting the player into two and three mirror images (in terms of actions) was really cool and added a neat level of difficulty to the game. I REALLY applaud you for creating a clever platformer that held strictly to the 2 button concept... I gave up at the bonus level 1 :-D

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:19pm

You have an interesting concept of puzzle game ! I like it simple but good idea :)

blackbird806 says ...
Jan 12, 2016 @ 8:16pm

Thanks all for your amazing feedbacks !!! =)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]