Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snakedate

by YoungHorses - Jam Entry

Welcome to Charmr, the premier dating app for snakes! Looking for love? Cruise around the club and wrap around your dates to show your affection!

When the Charmr app pops up, you'll see a potential date! If you think they're compatible, swipe right and go find them in the club. Be warned, you'll abandon your current date if you have one!

(Ideally the below will have a mouse graphic)
Left Mouse (Left Arrow, A) Turn left, Swipe left on Charmr
Right Mouse (Right Arrow, D) Turn Right, Swipe right on Charmr
Middle Mouse (Escape, Space, S) Pause/Unpause

Every successful date is worth a certain Charmr Score based on compatibility! High score dates will need more coils around them to be satisfied. Relationships today are about volume, so get as high a score as you can!

Follow us at @YoungHorses on Twitter.

If it's crashing or not loading:

Download and run the DirectX Updater with administrator privileges:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109

Download and run the Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) with administrator privileges:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
Innovation(Jam)4.36
#9Humor(Jam)4.39
#38Theme(Jam)4.32
#66Fun(Jam)3.89
#90Overall(Jam)3.89
#113Audio(Jam)3.82
#125Mood(Jam)3.81
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04

Comments

et1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Love it. Super buggy, but fun. My first game, I somehow made a bunch of horses love me without ever finding a charmr target or scoring any points. Second time around it seemed to work better.

I loved swiping left on dates in order to stay loyal to your current date. Good fun.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

This was pretty hilarious and creative. I liked the art style, too. Nice entry!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:11am

I broke the hearts of nearly every horse in that club trying to wrap around the DJ with the Imgur shirt. It was worth it.

Am I right in thinking the classic Snake game was an influence here? I thought it was neat that my tail ended up being an obstacle at one point, when it kept deflecting me upward mid-coil because I'd slithered around everywhere willy-nilly.

I liked how you used the simple control scheme, though I swiped left on a lot of horses accidentally when steering around things; part of the challenge, but it could have gotten frustrating over time.

The design on the dancing horses was really adorable; I loved the graphical style, the proportions, the animation, how round everything was, etc. The profile pictures were hilarious too; the obscenely buff horse giving me a lilting "Yoo-hoo" may very well have made my day.

This was weird and cute, and a lot of fun. Great work, folks!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:42pm

This made me lol :')
Really like the models of the horses and the dating app was genius.
Gooooooooood job!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Great game!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Haha, certainly one of the more interesting submissions! Loved the concept, execution, and the physics glitching out as per usual with these types of games :P

Gjarble says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:52pm

The game is not loading for me on Windows 7. I downloaded and ran the DirectX Updater as recommended, already had Visual C++ 2010 installed, and restarted the computer; still nothing. I can see the Snakedate.exe process running in Task Manager- its memory usage is staying fixed at 116 K.

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Young Horses? Young f*ing Horses? Snakes dating Young F*ing Horses?! This shit is amazing!

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:42am

Had tons of fun with this one. Love the art! :D

Kepab says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:58pm

First run seemed to have no "charmr bubbles" appearing on any horses, and so many sad horses with dark heart particles. I could not bear it.

But it gets better.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:20pm

The idea is soooo funny and weird... Graphics are nice and music too. The game seems quite polished for a jam, but sadly, the snake physics breaks a little bit the immersion. Nevertheless, this is absolutely creative! Yay!

lurils says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:59pm

very interesting and fun game, hah this idea is great, some times I'd go through people... and the phone wasn't super responsive, but for a jam game it's great.

Gjarble says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:06am

To follow up on my bug report from earlier: I finally got this game running! I had been getting similar problems running a few other LD games on my computer, so I figured the problem might be on my end instead of yours. Then, one LD entry suggested a solution which solved my problems with all the games that had failed to run, including this one: disabling Avast (particularly the File System Shield).

Anyway, this game is hilarious (as is to be expected coming from Young Horses). I like the twist on the Snake formula- particularly the fact that the danger of growing too long is no longer the possibility of crashing into yourself, but rather making it more difficult to get more points due to being wrapped around too many horse-dates.

I did notice a few interface issues- for instance, the first time I got a date that happened to be on the second floor, it took me a while to figure out where they were, as there's no way to look up (or any indicator of where the next date is if they're offscreen). Also, I could not find any indicator of a time limit, so I was kinda caught off-guard when the game ended.

Still, those are minor issues, it's a lot of fun. Good work!

Molpe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:51pm

The game is awesome! Great idea! I went through people as well, but I had a lot of fun! x)

I've made a let's play video if you want to check it out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DgNSIlTrEy4

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]