Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

No country for young men

by Haokarlos - Jam Entry

This is definetly no country for young men!

The main objective of the game is to grow your kingdom. You are a feudal lady and you have children, lots of them, and you can have even more!

Try to send them to marry other princesses of the countries, and expand your empire!
Arranged marriages are problematic and there are some bloody princesses out there. Maybe your
daughters can deal with them :P

Sorry about the bugs, we didnt have enought time for test and balance the game. I hope at least you enjoy the idea an the music! ;)

Team:
@Haokarlos - Game Designer & Programmer
@ShoonVGC - Programmer
@leftdoors - Pixel Artist
@celer_gut - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#247Humor(Jam)3.18
#263Innovation(Jam)3.49
#312Graphics(Jam)3.80
#336Audio(Jam)3.33
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#572Overall(Jam)3.26
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#743Theme(Jam)3.40

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Good job, the graphics are awesome!

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37pm

The game looks great! I think is the idea was awesome, but the lack of time made it impossible to appresiate it at its best
Very fun to play!

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Good job
I like the graphics

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Graphics are good and the game idea is fine but the game was a little hard to understand, there were a few bugs as well. Overall I'd it's pretty good though.

Dohxis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

I'd say*

arzi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:16pm

It's like a mini-Crusader Kings :o

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I have no idea what I am doing!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:54pm

The graphics looks good, I didn't always understand how the matching and childbirth systems work but the storytelling was funny.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:17am

Nice idea and cool graphics. Web version is quite blurry but it went fine. Like the texts and the general atmosphere.

Electron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Awesome graphics and funny story but the mechanics are a little bit hard to understand and that aside awesome game

Switchiers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Difficult to understand the mechanics at the beginning but the game is really nice!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:27am

It's like Risk but with youngins. Some kids want to go somewhere and then hate for for doing so and indeed quite a few other bugs but original idea and nice drawn pixel style.

bessdlan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:48am

good graphics and sound but a little difficult to understand :x

drinkadriu says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:00am

wow amazing job, the graphics are 5/5

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:24pm

I really like the concept and the graphics. I would have needed some more information about what is how influenced and what this means. Cool job :)

Nicolas Gass says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Whats is happening ? xD

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Really great graphics. well done

Stending says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Awesome work, graphics, audio, concept!
Congratulations, really! =)

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Interesting idea but it feels very confusing to play because of the lack of clear instructions in game. Also the game pretty much needs a skip turn button for when you literally can't do anything else.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:40pm

The art and music is pretty good, although the gameplay is sort of hard to really get a grasp on. The music fits very well.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:21pm

nice entry! :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:28pm

well done, great job!

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Graphics and humor were very good. There was a bug with mouse over on screen when my rule ended. I could mouse over where heads and map used to be and get messages. Overall very good game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]