Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Be FAT

by Mr_Fudd - Jam Entry

Pizza, bacon, peppermints, and burgers fall from the sky. Resist the temptation to eat it all and become grotesquely huge. Eat too much and you explode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#184Humor(Jam)3.38
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#731Theme(Jam)3.42
#883Mood(Jam)2.60
#923Innovation(Jam)2.41
#954Overall(Jam)2.76
#1016Graphics(Jam)1.83

Comments

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05pm

LOL.
I am fat, and this is how I eat :)
Love the game.

*cries and eats another burger*

PKCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Reminds me that i'm hungry...

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02am

Good first entry

TiByte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Yeah, pretty like every time in a month, when I get money :'D

Jelinib says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10am

Nice idea flipping around the "catch the falling object" kind of game. Also the way that being larger makes it harder to not eat food is a clever parallel with the real world.

The torrents of food were quite amazing to watch. I just have to stand there in awe, mouth gaping open... and soon, it's all over, haha.

Well done on your first LD! Now, probably the hardest part--keep going! :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:42am

Lol! This was a funny entry...I had fun avoiding the dangerous and fattening foods

brandloose says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:45am

Going in I had really low expectations (based on the art.) But, that was actually one of the better games I have played so far. Good philosophy for life though, once you start eating.. you can't stop..

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:55am

This game made me chuckle. It was a funny concept, well executed. I really liked the quotes at the end.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Yeah, I wish there was pizza raining from the sky:<

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 11:29am

Very funny! I like the take on the themes too.

Krafty says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Interesting game, but the hit detection was a little bit off. Keep working on it and I'm sure it'll be really good! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]