Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Safe or Sorry

by JimmothySanchez - Compo Entry

Safe or Sorry is a competitive survival horror game based on the prompt "Two Buttons". One button is "Safe" and the other will leave you "Sorry".

Game Rules:
-Pressing SORRY Spawns a monster and awards you points.
-The more monsters and the longer you stay alive the more points you get.
-Pressing SAFE ends the game and banks all of your points.
-Dying losses all of your points
-Try to get a high score!

Controls:
Mouse - Looks around
Left Click - Presses the buttons
Space - Jump, or respawn if you are dead
Escape - Quit the game

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#184Graphics3.75
#195Innovation3.65
#216Audio3.23
#228Mood3.36
#363Overall3.38
#400Fun3.26
#429Humor2.47
#554Theme3.64

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Neat concept. Decent graphics. Pretty very alright.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Neat to see a UE4 project, although the text got cut off from the sides because it opened up in windowed 4:3.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Very pretty, and the audio was nice. It would have instructions in the game, and sometimes when you lose the text goes off screen and becomes hard to read. Other than that, the game is great. Good job!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54pm

When I first saw a monster I legit almost knocked over my drink! Graphics are really cool, love the audio and it is very fun to play

Baecun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:05am

Very interesting concept, although there are some contradictions. When I first saw the game I thought 'oh neat, this looks like a twisted game show' and it kinda gives off that vibe... and then the music plays, and instead of this (almost comical) game show we get a dark depressive music, which doesn't fit the mood at all. Don't take this the wrong way, I actually think the music was good, just not in this context. Other than that, the game looks very good and it feels really right. Good job.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Really neat game. clever use of the theme too.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:35pm

My hearth kind of stopped the first time one of the enemies started chasing me XD It's really hard to guess where they cant see me, so I think you should add a cone-like representation of their vision. Other than that, good game ;)

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Very nice game! It made me jump a couple of times!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Cool interpretation of the theme!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:00am

Fun game. I liked the end messages for dying without banking and pressing safe immediately.

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:17am

Whoa, gosts! О_О
I liked the game a lot. Great Mood.
I disagree vith @Baecun about, I liked the Evil Circus style of the game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Really neat atmosphere! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/rvwkTXA2Y10

thedashdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Nice atmosphere, and a nice probability strategy game, but it would be nice to know where the monsters could see me.

Starspell says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:15am

Tenuous link to the theme but I don't care! Great use of sound and graphics. Very atmospheric. Not sure whether there are different creatures later one. If not then some variety would be nice. Needs a little love on the end of game screens though.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Graphics were lovely! I liked the foreboding atmosphere and found the monster genuinely terrifying. The sound of the monster added to the terror. Concept was good too.

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:35am

It has a great atmosphere... definitely made me edgy when wandering around.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Good concept. 5 Innovation

foolmoron says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I loooooove this concept! It's awesome seeing a game made by someone who actually knows how to use UE4. Graphics were super cool and fit that horror-game-show feel perfectly (same with the music). The actual gameplay of walking around and sneaking around the monsters is frustrating though since there's not enough information to avoid the monsters. But that risk/reward concept is so good that it's fun anyways.

DeltaNegative says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:46am

Pretty cool, although the monsters could have been more spooky.. I like the music tho :)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:01am

Surprisingly nerve-wracking game! Didn't really have too much incentive to keep spawning monsters though, as I could just wait till' they left the button room and camped there while watching the door to make sure I was safe.

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Nice game, loved the motion blur and lense flair but it needs to be more to the theme.

x92rwzb says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Nice game although the monsters are pretty scary!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Nice game,
I get some problems with the azerty keyboard but it's ok. (It's easy to mapp also azerty keys for move, it does not interfer with other classics keys)

Nice to see the UE4 files, I'll take closer look to this when I'll have a bit more time. ;)

Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:43pm

I found this game very spooky and scary! The use of light was awesome (reflections, dark places...) I liked it a lot.

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:53pm

From your description, (I missed the "end the game" part) I thought the safe button would bank points and let you start over, continuing from there. :/

I think it's too easy to be lazy by spawning one monster and just staying out of its way, but it's a nice concept.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Very reminiscent of "Tower of Greed" or any number of games with the bank-your-points-now-or-risk-it-and-get-more. Which is a good thing, since it's a sick concept for a game! The anglerfish was a very neat idea for an enemy, because not only is it easy to animate, it's also an untapped vein of horror.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]