Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Surge

by timeshapers - Compo Entry

Deck building game meets battlecon.

Fight a series of enemies with an ever growing deck of cards.

In deck building games, you discard your hand at the end of the turn, but fear not, when your deck runs out, you shuffle your discard pile back into your deck and draw again.

At the end of each level you'll get a choice between two cards to add to your deck. Choose wisely, as you will draw them throughout the entire game.

blog: www.timeshapers.com

Twitter: @materialpoetics (not very active... yet)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#177Innovation3.69
#300Overall3.47
#371Fun3.30
#467Graphics3.11
#468Theme3.75

Comments

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:04am

Wow, it is the best entry what i ever see on LD34! Really. Core mechanic and gamedesign principles looks very strong. Present cute aesthetics. It's great entry, dude. Well done!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Very good game, Nice work

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

So far this is the best entry I've played, I love it! The card mechanics are so much fun I'll be playing this more later. I really hope you continue working on this game because I'd love to play it!

Thanks for a great experience!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Cool idea. Lots of potential. Challenging but one you get the idea really fun to play. Great work!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Thanks for the kind comments, made my day!

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Love the aesthetic of it, a very solid entry! I still not sure what the goal of each level is, is it kill the enemy or reach the right? I didn't know if I actually killed the enemy or not since the enemy never disappear and I suddenly won. However, a very fun game I will come back to it afterwards :) Nice work on the graphics by the way.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I find it hard to tell whats going on without clear indicators of damage, and everything seems out of sync. Some cool ideas though, but I feel it needs a lot more polish.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Yes, it definitely needs more polish.

And now that you say so, I guess the tutorial level is a bit confusing. It was just a cool mechanic I stumbled into, but didn't fully explore.
Objective is to kill the enemy, and when you get to buy a card it's because you killed them.

Was hard to add good feedback with my limited animation ability and no sound.

Thanks for the feedback and kind words!

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Great idea! Fits the themes perfectly! I ran into a bug where the game wouldn't let me choose a card though.

DifferentName says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Fun game! I'm surprised how similar our games work with the 2-button Deck-building (Where everything you do is choosing which of the two cards you want to use). I think you pulled it off better though, making the binary decision between cards into a really interesting one.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:31am

Like the art style to this. Would be nicer with some audio. Good job.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24am

Very solid entry and interesting game mechanics. Easy to pick up and it just works! Graphics are minimalist but fitting, gameplay oddly involving for a 2 button game. Great design!

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:45am

damn. mind blowing! cool entry!

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:48am

Interesting mechanics but the text goes much too fast to allow me to read it. I ended guessing what was happening half the time and that's not very good.

It feels a bit random at times when you are stuck within a monster range and reposition just make you come closer or go further but still within the range.

Nice concept but really need some polishing up.

Henez says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Idea is great. Visuals are nice. Sounds would have been great. I assumed in the tutorial I needed to defeat the enemy and was confused as to why I was dealing 0 damage. Perhaps the tutorial text needs to be more apparent. It kind of blends with all the other UI text. Great entry!

Silvio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

I love the idea.
it may need some details. like little delays after attacks. I cannot read 2 lines of text in less than a second :D
but never mind. nice look and feel.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Awesome game you got here man i loved it.

JD557 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Really nice concept.

Some background music would be nice. It would also be cool to be able to see my current deck, but I understand that having only 2 buttons makes that quite hard.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:53am

Very innovative! I seriously recommend that you improve this game. Congrats!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24am

Ok, this is quite the awesome experience. Very nice implementation of the theme and I'm a sucker for deck building games. The mechanics were a bit confusing in the first two rounds but once you get the hang of it, it's really fun and with a bit of strategy.
Definitely requires expanding post-jam as I think you've a really solid thing here.

Great work!

Cheers,
Ionut(Tyrants.not.found team)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:54am

Neat concept. I found myself really mulling over the card choices and loved being awarded a new card on each room clear. Interesting to be building a deck as you play. Minimalistic pixel graphics do the trick. Some sound and music would really add a lot too! Good job.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Really cool card mechanics, didnt understand it at first, but once I got the hang of how to deal damage it was really fun.

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Interesting idea & mechanics. The learning curve is a little steep but the fact that you could just restart levels made it workable. I did have it lock up once on me--after I placed a trap in level 4--where it would not allow me to choose any cards. Overall though, really enjoyable card game mechanics. I'd love to play a full version of this.

monetai says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:18am

i quite liked it, mechanics are great

Ogniok says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:53pm

It's pretty impressive what you have achieved by yourself in 24 hours. I don't understand why others have problem in understanding what those cards means - it was quite obvious to me :D It would be awesome with some ambient - but in others fields you rock, my friend :)

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice little game with interesting core mechanics, good job ! ^^

Reggianito says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Fucking amazing.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:50pm

The concept is very interesting, I haven't reach the level5, maybe it's a little bit too hard, but I enjoyed it. Good job!

alvarop says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Cool game mechanics and excellent idea. I hope you keep working on it, making it tighter and communicating exactly what the game is all about from the get go. I really enjoyed this, so if you do work some more on it let me know!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:30am

Feels a bit too simplified for a deck building game. I know it is restricted to two buttons but I feel that only having two cards makes the gameplay too limited. Interesting idea, I really enjoyed the spacial combat mechanic.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Great mechanics and use of theme. You should definitely explore/polish it more.

Btw. please fix itch.io entry so it works with itch app.

Drury says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:24pm

This is the first deck-building game I've ever played, not much of a card game guy - and I must say, not bad. I'm really feeling it, if you get what I mean, despite the super narrow canvas that is the theme.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Great core mechanic that you should definitely expand upon post jam

utgarda says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Nice one. Definitely expand it! Requires a line or two of introduction, all the time while playing I was thinking "Who's this guy and why does he sift salt on the ground?" :D Probably it's magic.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Took a little while to get into the game but once I got the mechanics down, it was brilliant! Amazing idea, great amount of work into this. Loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]