Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman's Christmas

by beetracks - Jam Entry

Theme: Two Button Controls

Take Kevin, the snowman, to the top of the tree by jumping the balls. They have different kinds of impulse, so, jump wisely.

The gameplay instructions are in game.

Credits:
sound effects, music and programming by @brupibo
graphics by @kakinak

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#148Audio(Jam)3.71
#177Mood(Jam)3.68
#195Fun(Jam)3.58
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#367Innovation(Jam)3.33
#401Graphics(Jam)3.66

Comments

pinion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:11pm

This game made smile. I am ready for christmas now.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Solid and fun platforming, and the complexity of different ball positions / colours ramps up at a nice pace

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Great game! great atmosphere and the controls are nice. good level design. As a bonus playing this helps with the snowman trauma from my own LD game :D

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Nice little game ! great mood !

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Good level design ! Good job !

suppi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

this game made me smile as well! really solid entry. love the puzzles, the graphics and audio. great job!

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:24am

Thank you very much!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:22am

Very cute! Music was great, level design was appropriately difficult. Loved it.

Thembi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:29am

Excellent

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:44am

All stages complete! Loved it!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:55am

Really fun and simple game. Nice work! Perfect time too!

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:00am

Well done sirs and/or ma'ams. This is a great game both from style and gameplay. I enjoyed it enough that I would have loved to see more levels. The only suggestion I would have made is that considering you could only jump two directions, using left and right for the jumps to cut out having to use two keys for some moves might have been more efficient. Other than that, great job.

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:02am

I love this game. The music is nice, the graphics are nice, the concept is nice; everything is nice. Fantastic job!

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22am

Thank you all for the feedback! @dalbinblue, the choice for the keys were intentional. It gave some "difficulty" to the game. We're going to port it for Android, there we won't have much choice but make a "touch left/right" to jump, but in the keyboard it's kinda cool to have to use both hands (in our opinion). But it's a valid suggestion you gave, we appreciate!

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:12am

Love the look of it.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:21am

Full marks on innovation. At first wasn't too sure if this was going to make a fun game or not, but when I hit stage 3 I realized it actually lead to a really unique and intriguing puzzle game. Very unexpected! Really good work, may play this some more to see ho far I get, this really could be an mobile game at some time and do well from it!

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:05am

Thanks for rating and commenting on GET IT OUT!!! I had fun playing this! I thought it was a good use of the theme and that last level was TOUGH. Nice work on the music and graphics. Overall it was a good time. Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing! :)

logon13 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34pm

The puzzles in this game are great and I love the aesthetic. One of the best games I've played so far. Brings a real big smile.
Ps love the falling snowman sounds its like noooooooo

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Solid platform game with an interesting physics. A good level design and a fantastic mood. Vey cute. I like it ++

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:42am

For some reason the balls were's yellow after stage 2, and it became a game of guess/check for me...

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:55am

I enjoyed this game. The music is good , the graphics are nice, fun to play=)

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:54am

Everything I could hope from a Ludum Dare entry: a short yet solid game with a good gameplay, quality graphics & audio, and good effort down to the details (menus, cutscenes...).

Congrats to both of you!

vortex says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:30pm

After getting close to rage quitting, I finally managed to get poor Kevin to the top of the tree.
Great game. Made me really happy. It would have been better if you could jump quicker(like it would remember that you pressed jump just before getting on the next bulb)

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Very unique little puzzle game.
Love the visually presentation. The sound is also cool!
Congrats!!

Osaft says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:29pm

5/5

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Simple and fun game. Good level design, gets the brain juices flowing.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Quite funny the intro, also that last level was amazing, got me for at least three minutes (just the last level). Anyway, keep up with the good work!

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

nice game, interesting level design

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Nice graphics and solid game, good work!!

eric777 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:23am

Easily my favorite so far! Cute theme, compelling motivation to get the bottom-tree ornament some respect! Good use of 2-button theme. Excellent audio. Level design was thoughtful. Gfx were great looking. Game ran smooth even on my craptop. Just can't say enough - top notch entry.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:39am

You got 5/5 from me :) Well done guys. Thanks for the xmas spirit

justinooncx says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Pretty cool game, although I'm not sure why the player couldn't just use left and right for the jumping. Otherwise, it looks very well-polished.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Good presentation and setup, it's just that my brain could not accept up as jump and space to turn. Space is so hardcoded as jump in my mind that I kept pressing the wrong key. Good production values and design, good work.

Muel says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:28am

Graphics are great, music are fitting, controls are tight.
Nice work!

Simonaiso says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Amazing! the game is a very nice puzzle in itself, (I imagine you reverse designed the levels?) and the music and art makes it really great. Bravo!

beetracks says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Thank you all for your feedback!!!

@SSJMetroid sorry about that. I have no idea what went wrong. :/ Maybe ctrl+F5 to refresh would solve it? Or, if you can, try another browser (Firefox or Chrome are recommended).

@justinooncx these controls were intentionally chosen for adding some complexity to the game.

@zenmumbler haha, yes, you have a good point.

@Simonaiso Kind of. My "empty level" had the starting point and ending point. Then everything was calculation. Indeed I did more math than I expected to create those levels. Haha.

Dalkor says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:49am

Simple. Fun. Good puzzle and scaled in difficulty well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]