Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Street Journal

by modenv - Jam Entry

Introduction:
Today!
A highly anticipated stock-exchange enlisting, from a company named: Gooqle
A promising trading-company, whom the Ball Street Journal predict are going to rely on quick, high-risk decisions and a lot of hard work, to survive and grow to become one of the strongest corporations on the market.

***

Ball Street Journal is an arcade-style game where you take the role as a newly enlisted company. Roam the stock market to find smaller companies to invest in and increase your capital.
But be careful not to clash into a bigger company, as they will buy you out
and you will be forced to retire.
If you have the skill to manage a combination between company acquisition and share dividend, you can become the leading trading company on the market.
Good Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#563Humor(Jam)2.57
#607Graphics(Jam)3.27
#651Overall(Jam)3.18
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#685Fun(Jam)2.95
#1011Innovation(Jam)2.14
#1611Coolness44%

Comments

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I got an error the folder "Ball Street Journal_data" wasn't found (windows) but after renaming, everything worked ok.

The game is a nice take on the fish in the sea game, graphics are great but appear to be kinda half-done? (lots of white)

Music & Audio were great!
Movement felt fun but collision detection was a bit weird.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I liked the audio especially the background noises added to the mood, liked that the credits were scattered around the city. Gameplay was a bit too simple for me.

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Not bad, but it seems like if you don't get ahead early there's no way to recover. You also need to fix the web client.

Gins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Nice single player agar.io clone :)
Definitely works in this context!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Fun twist on the big fish eating small fish trope! Needing to"engulf" a company makes the reward rise with the challenge. I also liked the movement and chase mechanics, which leads to some cool dynamic situations such as whipping around your pursuer or doing a fly-by past an even larger company to distract them both.

Kept trying but couldn't break half a million. On my last attempt, I got eaten by a company with the diameter of more than half the screen that just appeared on top of me. :)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Finally broke half a million. Around 700K I started to fill the whole screen and a chain reaction of mergers began that ended at 3.6 million. :)

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice job on the audio and the buildings, and i really liked the metaphor!
Gameplay is hard to control though and knowing which is possible to acquire is difficult

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

There is a bug where another big "business" can spawn right on you when you eat smaller one that uses "stay still" behaviour. I was expecting game design of this type to show up but you had very good thematic design. Well done!

anv says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Now that's what I call a "hostile takeover"! Probably best free market portrayal I've ever seen. On technical side, game is well polished - city landscape looks great (thanks to unique stylistic choice) and AI enemies behave better than your average Agar.io Player.

Japes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Nicely polished!
+1 humor star for the name :)

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Would love to see the gameplay a bit more developed, it felt very sparse, not at all the speedy dodge-em' style twitch game would would expect wall street to be! Not much to acquire, the larger companies drifting behind like slow balloons!
City was beautifully modelled.

ddr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Well, it's quite agar.io-ish (not that it's a bad thing, there is some big gameplay similarities).

That said, I love the idea of hovering over the city like that and the graphics are gorgeous, lacking a bit of color but that's it. The audio is very well done as well.

Good job

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:12am

Well that was plain awesome! Loved the graphics, the music even more! It's a cloned idea but the execution is really original. My only concern was that it was a bit too hard to swallow other companies.

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:24pm

The game is funny, but you have to, lets call it, grind a lot.

Mar 30, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Really neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]