Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chop Chop

by MisterMortal - Jam Entry

Strike combos to cut down the trees with style!

Use A/D or arrow keys to complete combo shown at the top of the screen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Humor(Jam)3.72
#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#369Overall(Jam)3.47
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#799Innovation(Jam)2.70
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

adamwoolridge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Awesome style and music, but really hard :)

Harsay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Bla bla bla Mr. Freeman...

krashja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Cool effects :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Lovely art & music :)

Kushulain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Fun game and nice art but a bit punishing (hard lol ;D)

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Pretty good entry, too a while to learn the controls.. but after that it was actually pretty simple ;)

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Pretty cool game! Found the mechanic maybe a bit too simple, but the presentation is awesome and kept us playing for a while. Different "skins" and characters are a really cool bonus here. Would love an online ranking: starts easy but gets pretty challenging with long combinations. Great job!

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Not bad, not bad ! :)

omaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:56pm

this is great!

I wish there was a counter and a high score. I was really proud of my last run but I can't say how good it was.

shadow64 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:27am

Definitely liked this. I saw you post it on facebook when you finished and I was like "That looks fun." Very cool idea. I liked the music I liked the sound effects. HL3!? Thanks for sharing, great job, and I hope you expand it into something more outside of the jam! Congrats!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:18pm

that's was nice

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Really neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/w1ddlauRQRk

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:23am

Really nice game, love the music and textures as well as the references to star wars and half life ;)

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:15pm

A bit buggy, but the bugs are nearly as fun as the game :)

Bastienre4 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:06pm

awesome everything, i just wish it wasn't so minimalist in terms of animations and all

domo_demo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:16pm

funny game i like it :) maybe need a little animation when you cut the tree and show score on screen

DrZanuff says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

Well, we don't see Darth Vader and Gordon Freeman everyday in a rhythm game, so 5 stars for you in innovation :D

Also, HL3 Confirmed!!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:09am

Why no possibility to vote for art and graphic? i totally want to star it 5/5 !

Tapehead says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:19am

funny game! like the style :)

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:21am

Nice game. I think it be more interesting, if it have indication when you are going on road. And fights sometimes is very quickly ends. I want kill more enemies!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]