Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Balloon Bullies

by DivineOmega - Compo Entry

Balloon Bullies - a truly deep game that analyses the life of a simple red balloon and the reactions of society, or something.

You're just a balloon, but fools want to throw rocks at you.

Evade their malicious attempts to expedite your destruction.

---

Themes:
* Growing - The balloon constantly inflates over time increasing how difficult it is to dodge the incoming projectiles.
* Two button controls - In game, the balloon moves on its own. Your only two controls are buttons that allow you to toggle up/down and left/right movement.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#484Theme3.73
#544Humor2.24
#655Innovation2.85
#670Audio1.80
#829Fun2.58
#840Mood2.13
#904Graphics1.65
#920Overall2.54

Comments

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:46am

Man why do so many people wanna take that balloon down? :U
Easy was a little too easy, I got to 73 seconds on hard though! I noticed that the rocks wouldn't go through the side of the wall like the balloon would, so you could drift between the wall edges.

Cool stuff!

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Cool game! Great use of the theme! Would have liked to control it with the keyboard as opposed to clicking a button on the screen.

Good luck!

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

the game most fun on extreme difficulty, the control quite difficult first time since you need to switch it manually on each direction, but you can get used to it fast
overall really nice game!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Something like this would probably work very well as a mobile game. Bonus points for using both themes. I liked it!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I really like this game, I think I cheated by going off the sides to dodge the rocks, however I left the game running on extreme with the balloon just floating right and scored 183.

At first I wanted to use buttons to change the direction, however I think its actually a better game when you have to click because it makes it a little more challenging.

I couldn't hear any sound but you have still left the rating on for audio, might be my computer so I did n/a for audio.

Ayte says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I liked it.
Controls are a little confusing at first

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:12pm

The sound effects were really funny, albeit not of good quality. The art style looks like something a 6 year old would draw, but it doesn't matter because I had a good time.

Gameplay wise very simply, controls were fairly simple as well, and the game well to the theme.

Not the most innovative game ever, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

Congratulations on creating your first game ever for Ludum Dare, and I hope to see your games in the future :)

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Finally someone is talking about balloon violence. When did we lose our way as a society? Fun game and creative use of the two-button theme. For some reason I found it slightly confusing that the buttons were labeled with the current state, rather than the next state, but that might be a personal problem.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Nice take on two buttons. I like the toggle concept. Would be cool to see it taken further.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Well made game, nice use of theme. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

Graphics are simple. Bit too easy on anything but extreme. But at it's core gameplay it's a simple and fun idea. Good Luck!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Nice game!
The sound when you change direction is a little annoying, and I would have rather controlled this with my keyboard. But the concept is nice, and the game plays well :)

Good job!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:40am

Very fun little game which uses the 2 button theme perfectly. Gets super hard quickly as the balloon doesn't move very fast. Love it!

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:52am

Cute! Simple concept, but the controls make it interestingly challenging. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]