Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

13VS25 - 2D Space Shooter

by TripleW - Compo Entry

I present to you: 13VS25. My very first Ludum Dare game, it's a space shooter! The goal is to kill the enemy that constantly grows. When you hit the enemy, it will shrink. When the enemy hits you, you'll shrink. You don't grow back so better watch your "lives" while you try to destroy the evil red thing.

This is pretty much the first "full game" I made. I have learnt a lot and also had a lot of fun in a very limited time this weekend :)
These are the tools I used.

Programming: Eclipse + Java + libGDX
Graphics: Pyxel Edit + Wacom Intuos Photo
Sound effects: bfxr
Music: FamiTracker

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#440Audio2.71
#677Humor1.79
#739Graphics2.59
#773Mood2.45
#781Theme3.29
#847Innovation2.42
#866Overall2.70
#877Fun2.41

Comments

togo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58am

it's nice picking up the pace so that the enemy doesn't heal back. makes it a gratifying victory.

RikkyPikki says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07am

Nice idea! But the controlls really sucked and the theme was growing, not shrinking

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Don't heal the enemy.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:23am

Enjoyed playing it although I don't think it's fair that the enemy gets to regenerate life and I don't :)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:45am

Fun entry. Challenging and one really needs to have timing good to win.

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

The sound is great,but ennemy cant death. I like this game,simple but effective.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

It felt like there was a lot of artificial difficulty, and although the moving and shooting mechanic was the sort that's easy to pick up and difficult to master, the fact that the enemy is so much more powereful than you made it frustrating to play against. Adding a player-vs-player mode when you're on equal terms, or even an AI that you're on equal terms with but outsmarts you would have been better to play, I feel.

PhysiOS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:05pm

I liked it, if you mess up your shots and you get locked on will get killed very quickly.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

It is impossible to not get hit in the corner. Enemy has more bullets and faster fire rate, and it regenerates. The game feels too hard.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The advantages given to the enemy made this very difficult until I found that moving slightly after shooting would dodge the enemy projectile and move the enemy into yours, since the enemy directly follows the player; it then became very repetitive, but I suppose that's more my fault.

Some extra randomness to the enemy's movement would make it more interesting and stop that strategy.

Music and graphics are nice though, and the idea is a good one. Overall is was still quite fun to play!

tazdij says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

very good. it took a couple tries for me to win.

maerzhase3000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

decent game. actually not so easy to win. decent graphic-style.

logorrhea says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:52am

I like the audio/visual design, but I thought the game was more frustrating than fun.

Soron says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

Nice visuals! Difficult gameplay, though.

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Decent entry! I really wanted to be able to shoot faster or get some momentum as I was shooting. Enjoyed the graphics and sound!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Hello, This is GameGrape Gaming! Here at GameGrape Gaming we review games, more! We will do a run through of your game making sure you can see someone playing and enjoying your game but also letting you know what could be changed or whats awesome about your game.

Feel free to send as many as you want since we review all the games that are sent! All games will be video reviewed and the reviews will be available on the GameGrape Gaming YouTube channel and GameGrape Gaming website. We will even Tweet and share the games we like the most on Twitter!

So what are you waiting for? Do you want people to see your game(s)? Do you want to watch people play your game? The time has come! What are you waiting for!

Get Your Game Reviewed Now!: https://goo.gl/StKpT9

If you would like to be placed in the randomly picked group then sign up here (you are not guaranteed to get a review with this option though): http://goo.gl/forms/WMMWfbKU5N

This game looks great and we can't wait to play! Good luck in the competition! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:38am

I personally didn't like the enemy healing themselves. I felt like it dragged on too long. It was challenging and satisfying when I won though

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

nice a little confusing at first, but i liked that the ememy gets faster as the game progress

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:34am

I liked the look of this game, however it was quite difficult to win and I feel overall the concept was a little too simple.

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11am

A good challenge :) I liked how the game got harder if you had more lives than the other player, or vice-versa. I'm not sure the controls really worked though. Perhaps you could have auto-shot and moved the player left and right as you please?

Korhain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:49am

Simple premise, good use of the themes and good aesthetics. Changing directions felt a bit unfair as most of your damage gets nullified and you can't avoid getting hit a whole bunch.

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Pretty nice for a first game. I wasn't sold on the enemy having all the advantages (faster shooting and faster restoring). Maybe if there were multiple stages and it built up to a tough enemy. I'd also like to be able to hold down space and make continuous shots rather than tap it every time. Good job, hope you continue making games!

layona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11pm

A good game !

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Nice game, is simple but it rules. I like simple games! Twicking the controls It will be much more better! keep working on It :D

Louspirit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Appreciated the challenge ! Very realistic effect when you take hits :) And nice idea for the control.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Fun, but I want more levels. More hardcore pls =)

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09am

hi, this game was decent attempt and i liked how challenging it was with the timing on the sides to dodge enemy bullets and at first was freaking out as its lives grew then read your descrption and was like ohhhh now your going down :D then i died multiple times :(

Well Done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]