Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Ricochet

by juaniBanaani - Jam Entry

Left mouse click and drag. When you release it will shoot.

Player needs to kill enemies at the level. Best result is to do it with one bullet.

If you have problems with the mouse (when you pull out of the gameview it stops aiming), try the WEB -link.
There iframe is not stopping you from pleasurable aiming experience.

---
I made graphics, programming and design. Sounds are from freesound.org.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

Slothmachine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Fun Game. Love the choir. Such drama.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Love the use of soundeffects in this game. Makes it so enjoyable. Also the knockback of the shooter is great. Great job!

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

This game is fucking awesome, very immersive :D

kmakai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Fun! Very satisfying gameplay. Could use more levels, maybe a shorter guide so you can't tell if you will miss or not. Not sure how well it fits in with the theme, but otherwise good job all around!

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Didn't fit the theme at all but a nice puzzle game. Would have preffered lasers.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I liked this. Good work

zatch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Fun little physics puzzler. Could definitely see this going somewhere.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Really cool and fun game bruh ;)
But the choir sound is a bit too loud and the game too easy and too fast ^^
But overall nice one and continue like that :)

Saivan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Man! Good level design and very creative! I spent some time in this game! Congratulations!

utgarda says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Finished all the levels :) Good one!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]