Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plutonium FREE

by gokottastudio - Jam Entry

Hey! Here is our game! Plutonium FREE


Description:

In Plutonium FREE you can avoid your planet from being contaminated!! Be the best SCO (Space Customs Officer). For this goal, you have the best tool/monster that you can have, called "Springol". Give him his favourite food: PLUTONIUM!

ATENTION! Don't let any suitcase fall into your planet. We need you for being Plutonium FREE.




-----------------------------------------

Use A/D or LEFT/RIGHT keys, suited to the theme "TWO BUTTON CONTROLS"

For the theme "GROWING", you can gather suitcases in the "Anty-Gravity Feeding Tube". Also, Springol gets fat as he eats.


-----------------------------------------

NOTES:

Videogame made with Unreal Engine 4.

We have a scalability issue in 16:9. To solve it, minimize and maximize window. For a better quality, download the PC standalone version.

THANK YOU


-----------------------------------------


Team:
Rubén Córcoles: Game Designer and 3D Artist
Carlos Díaz: Programmer, sound Designer and Music Producer
Luis Collado: Project Manager
Adriano López: Programmer
Gemma Jiménez: 3D Animator and Rigger


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#184Humor(Jam)3.38
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#398Overall(Jam)3.43
#411Fun(Jam)3.28
#462Mood(Jam)3.28
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00

Comments

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:38am

Nice game and art, it's a very hard for me but is a game that you have to try!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34am

Thank you marod! Keep trying, and post your score! I bet you can beat us! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I am not sure, what I was supposed to do. As far as I could tell, I could just suck up everything and would be fine.

rockford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35pm

I like!!

ahmedrage says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Excellent, love the art style!

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:38pm

It looks amazing, I loved the art and music, theme is pretty solidly covered and gameplay isn't bad. Could've done with a little better tutorialisation maybe as I wasn't sure if I was sucking up the plain or green cases, I read the tutorial text but maybe didn't absorb it well. But solid effort!

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Nice art indeed, and camera work is often omitted in order to go faster, but you used it :) And yes, it's totally not obvious what you one should do.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01pm

I liked the character.

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

cute character! not sure if the goal is to suck everything? Adding more constraints like a suck cooldown might make the game more challenging.

Flip120 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Very funny game, I spend some of my time detecting suspicious packages :)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Thanks everyone for the nice comments!

@gebirgsbaerbel and @SeaDads , we tried to make it as much intuitive as we could. Because controls were so easy, we thought they didn't need a tutorialisation. Obviously we were wrong. Our future work on this will be in that direction.


Thanks for your compliments!

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Really nice entry. Congrats to the team. Cute graphics and sound, good gameplay mechanisms ! Well done

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Very nice game. Great fun

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10pm

I liked the mood of it, crazy, fast paced and full of colors.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:29pm

WOW, very cool game - love it.

Sergioct says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Funny monster and good art.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01am

I had a moment of panic when I didn't know what to do, but figured it out really quickly. I thought it was fairly intuitive. Love the art, and especially the animation on "Springol."

Mr MadCat says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:29pm

It took me while to figure out what packages I should suck up and which not. You might want to add one lline of description for that. I didn't notice that the screens change what you see, so it wasn't obvious to me.
Also I think the sound effects became a bit annoying after some time. That might also be a point for improvement.
Controls and graphics are great and theme is well met.
All in all a well done entry.

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:47pm

This has some nice animations, considering that you made all of these. Also, it was pretty fun to play, proper feedback, everything cool. Congrats and keep up with the good work!

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Really awesome game!! Nice to see a successful html5 export using unreal engine. The sound/music was great, the graphics/animations were awesome. A bit repetitive but isn't made to be played for hours either :) I got to 31K points

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:00pm

you could add some more types of cargo to spice up difficulty instead of just speeding up. good entry overall.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Really well done! the art was appealing, and it was pretty fun too.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:03pm

very fun game and i love this graphic, nice work

crucknuk says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Nice entry. It is well animated and I really the mood. Good job ;)

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Nice game, i love the character. Good job bro.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Great music, great character design, and fun gameplay! Having the two sides be so far apart really makes the gameplay more frantic, because you need to keep checking from side to side. Nice work!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Really liked the graphics and I love how well you've used both themes in the game.

lurils says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:21pm

nice visuals and really fun game, pretty challenging as I kept being to late as my brain registered the information from my peripheral vision heh.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:36am

Very fun gameplay! It feels really nice to get in a rhythm and feel like you're hitting all the right beats, then appropriately crushing once you start failing. Well done!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Everything went so fast after a while, whew!
My max score was 12900.
It's simple and it works.
Nice character.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Nice game, cool graphics.
I enjoy it, congrats!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Nice art, I wasn't 100% on my goals, still fun though.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 12:46pm

El juego me recuerda un montón al minijuego de Rayman Rabbits, buen concepto y muy divertido. El aspecto gráfico es genial y la música pegadiza. Very good job :-)

jackrugile says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Nice job! I can tell you put a lot of effort into the shell and supporting art for the game. I especially loved the Springol character.

I think the concept was sound, but there was one thing I'd change: I think the tubes should be positioned at the very end of their respective ramps. This would give more time to react to the recognition of the package. Then, the difficulty could ramp up as usual from there. I just feel like setting it toward the middle how you have it artificially boosts the difficulty initially and there's not as much room to move up from there. It sucks when you see a plutonium package out of your peripheral vision, press the button, only to realize it is already past your tube. If it disappeared out of view right as it passed the tube, then this frustration wouldn't occur. You'd just miss it fair and square.

All in all, I had a great time playing, I think just tweaking some ideas could go far to improve the game. Nice work!

My best score was 16,950.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]