Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Repulsion

by DieBackStudios - Jam Entry

This is my Ludum Dare 34 Entry for the two tied themes:

Two Button Control and Growing.

This game will trick your mind, test your reflexes, and

Put your hand-eye coordination skills to its full use,

Made by one man in span of 48 hours.


*PLAY STORE VERSION NOW AVAILABLE*


*WEB-UPDATE*
-Now You can use the collected orbs to continue with another life.
-Added How To Play Tutorial

Rules are simple:-

Black cant touch white, White cant touch black.

But beware, Don't Grow too big as the other might shrink out of existence

Press Z to move Orb Anticlockwise,

Press X to move Orb Clockwise, and

Press Z+X to Switch Orb's places, Change color of the orbit.

Added Second Binding-

Z- Left Arrow

X-Right Arrow



If you are having difficultly understanding the game mechanics, READ THIS :

**Try Concentrating on the color of the orbit you are revolving around.**

**Growing Shrinking Mechanics - Explained**
Its like if you only pick black ones and ignore all white ones, the black orb will swell up and white orb will shrink. If one orb gets too small you will loose obviously,
This is to prevent players to camp on only picking one color.

You can actually change the color of the big circle(orbit) by pressing Z+X, So if your one orb(black or white) gets too big you need to ignore those color incoming projectiles by changing the color of big circle(orbit) to maintain the balance between black and white.


Thank you all for these overwhelming positive reviews :)


Seems Easy? Go try for yourselves.

Good Luck Have Fun!

For upcoming Updates and more,
Follow me @DieBackStudios

Enjoy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#102Audio(Jam)3.86
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#390Mood(Jam)3.36
#412Graphics(Jam)3.64
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#487Fun(Jam)3.19

Comments

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

a bit too hard for me :(

amorphous says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17am

It's difficult, but I liked the concept. Has a sort of bullet-hell vibe to me, for some reason.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24am

:) Thanks its hard i know you need to play few times to get hold on controls

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

Great look, really hard, but I loved the mechanic and would play again.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10am

Difficult but fun and has a nice art style! Would be nice if it was a bit more forgiving (not end right away after letting one thing through)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:14am

Good audio and very interesting idea and well implemented idea. I spent a lot of time to play =)

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

I played a LOT of this game - which is a good thing! I was terrible at the start but it definitely motivated me to keep trying, to get to know the controls better and to beat my highscore. A really good score-attack game, and I think it would work really well on mobile devices!

I still don't quite understand the growing/shrinking mechanics though - but that might just be because I'm dumb!

Great work!

bessdlan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19am

Difficult (i'm not very good with this kind of games :x) but it's cool to play ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

@thecatspajamas
Thanks :) glad you like it means a lot

@SeriousCreeper
Ya i was thinking about adding life's lets see if more people find it too difficult i will do so :) Thanks for reviewing

@NirabazGames
Thanks for time :) Glad you enjoyed it

@Neoludo
Well yeah i plan to release this on mobile devices quite soon, :) its so good to see people enjoy your games isn't it.
Sorry about that growing shrinking mechanics maybe i didnt explain it quite well, its like if you only pick black ones and ignore all white ones, the black orb will swell up and white orb will shrink.
If one orb gets too small you will loose obviously
This is to prevent players to camp on only picking one color.

Hope its clear :P
Thanks for your time.

@bessdlan
Sorry if its too hard :P ill try and tweak if lots of people find it too punishingly hard xD
Thanks you for the review

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50am

Very difficult, but it's good!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

Dying after one mistake makes it really challenging, but it looks cool and plays well! Would be an interesting idea to expand into a larger game.

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:59am

Nice concept with interesting gameplay.

What are the condition for loosing ? Sometime the droplet reached the limit, but the game keeps runing.

bloomingbuds says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05am

the controls reminds me of Duet (for android), and the difficulty of the superhexagon. Nice idea and aesthetics.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12am

@aamatniekss
Thankyou for review

@TheMergeConflicts
Ya i have lots of ideas in mind to expand this game :) Thanks for your time reviewing.

@SvenFrankson
As mentioned its simple
You will loose if
Black touch white, Or White touch black.
But White can touch white and black can touch black,

Thanks for your time playing :)

@bloomingbuds
You got it nailed down :) Glad you liked it
Thanks for reviewing

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22am

bit hard but well balanced. perfect music and theme. graphics are okay but somewhat distracting. high level of polish. very well done.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:14pm

I liked the concept. Great realisation.
I have two concerns tho: a second binding for non-qwerty keyboard would have been nice (like the arrow key)
I'm not sure I understood all of the defeat conditions, dunno if it's a bug or a lack of feedbacks.

Still, great game!

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Fun game. The pumping style is awesome, an audio-visual treat :) Found the game pretty hard, and punishing, but I can see myself enjoying it if I sunk the time in

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

@piper82
Thank you for reviewing :)

@Nizar89
Glad you liked it, ya ill add second binding thanks for reminding added on todo list :)

@Warboys
Thank you for your kind words, happy to see you liked it :)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:55pm

cool

Jace239 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I liked the graphic style and the music. It's a creative take on the two buttons theme. As others have said, it's quite challenging. At times I felt like it was impossible, but I think that's probably just due to not mastering the switching mechanic. Overall it was still a fun and interesting game, good job!

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Hard as hell, but I like the idea. It just seemed bit weird to me of how can you manage the growth of the circles, if you can't miss any of the middle projectiles?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:45pm

@MercuryXGames
:) Thank you

@Jace239
Yes, a few games are required to get proper hold of controls,
Thanks for reviewing :)

@MisterMortal
You can actually change the color of the big circle by pressing Z+X, So if your one orb(black or white) gets too big you need to ignore those color incoming projectiles by changing the color of big circle to maintain the balance between black and white.

Hope you Understood :)
Thanks for playing.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I love your game ! It's well polished and real fun. Thanks

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:46pm

I love it! Looks, sounds, and feels great. So hard though! My high score is 14.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:17am

@Blake_Lead
Feels good to see people enjoy ur game :) Thanks

@KZdev
Thanks, such positive reviews is the reason i do this :D

hexagore says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Okay, had a few minutes on it, got up to 18. You weren't kidding about this being hard :P Took me a while to work out how to play. What I can't quite figure out is why sometimes missing a sperm doesn't cause a game over, but sometimes it does? Otherwise, yeah, just the ticket this :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:31pm

@hexagore
Actually to make it fare its like you can miss the sperms (as so you called it xD) of the same color as the big circle, and you can switch its color by pressing Z+X
"Black cant touch white, White cant touch black."
But white can touch white, and same for black :)

Thanks for playing and reviewing.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

This is a very interesting idea. Great Job. I loved the look. It took me a bit to realize that going backwards meant moving into the opposite color trail.

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Cool game, but even harder on a QWERTZ keyboard

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Nice game! Looked and souned nice! Good job!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:00pm

And I though that my game was difficult!
Oh boy, was I ever so wrong.

Dejvo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:01pm

it was really confusing to me but the execution is great. guess i just don't have the brain for it

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Excellent. It's a lot more challenging than it looks at first. :)

I know the theme is two-button controls, but I think having a third separate button for the switch would make the game a bit less frustrating. Maybe consider releasing a post-jam version with an extra button?

Anyway, great work.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Good rythm game, a little too hard for my taste, but good anyway

ajopart says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Great job !

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:22pm

It's hardcore, only 1 try and controls lack a little of smoothness to movement of this spheres, quick click moves them for quite distance.
But anyway it's nice reaction based hardcore game,good job =)

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Nice sound and art!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Very nice concept. I really dig the minimalist vector style you got going there and the animations are really smooth.

Gameplay is also simple to grasp, but very challenging and addicting. Really speaks to my own bullethell/twitch-game preferences.

The only nitpick I could really comment on is that sometimes, it felt a bit too sensitive on what constituted a failure. At a few points I was right next to the projectile and for some reason it called it a missed. Might've been that I was a little bit too far away, but still felt a little bit sensitive.

Anyways, great concept! Kudos! :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Very nice arcadish stuff there! Might have done with a bit more tolerance I think. Looked good!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Addictive - I played with arrow keys. The music is great and adds a hypnotic mood in the game. One of my favorites. Thumps up ++

blohod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Fun game, a bit confusing at first but pretty fun too, I played it on stream at http://www.twitch.tv/meep706

Shurty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48pm

the gameplay is a bit difficult for me. but very Nice art style. and I love the music too. It feets well :)

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:24pm

A bit hard to know what to do at the start, but it is a nice game. Loved the concept and played it again and again.

Lullaby says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Fun but hard! Black and white trails are a bit confusing.
I tried a few times and get 10 as maximum score.
Audio is very repetitive, but obviously intended this way.
Well played.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Good idea but crazy hard.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:00am

Ow, congratulation for your game! I love the sound, fluid game play and very hard, hahahaha.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:17am

Hey, visually it looks simillar to the game made by us! :)
But your mechanics is different. And if honestly I don't really understand why I die all the time. More instructions maybe?

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:59am

@LastResortGames @Pusty
Thanks glad you liked it

@banana4life
I added second binding left and right arrow keys :)
Thanks for review

@eemmbbeerr
hahaha xD Thanks mate

@Dejvo
Maybe ill tweak the difficulty in the future :) Thank you for playing

@BulletsArePeopleToo
Yeah sure man i am planing on releasing it on mobile stores with many more new controls features enemies xD and planning boss fights xD hilarious Thanks

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:49am

@monetai @ajopart @chewie @Troma
Thanks for the compliments :)

@crashmore studios
Thanks for the comment noted ill the to make it better

@Trasevol Dog
Thanks ill try and improve

@Geckoo
Thanks, one of your fav means a lot :)

@blohod
Haha thanks man i saw your stream, i added more instructions people seem a bit confused playing at first, Thanks you helped a lot

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:57am

@Shurty
Glad you liked it :D

@Nugget Team
Thanks for playing :)

@Lullaby
Confusion is the key :P I love tricking minds haha xD
Thanks for review :D

@Leaghorn @vicious_br
Thanks appreciate your review :)

@Ivan Volkov
Reviewed your game :) looks awesome Added more instructions as asked thanks :)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29am

@vicious_br
Done bro rated again :)

dos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Please don't mark Unity Player games as "Web", it's not web at all.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:08am

@dos
What else category do i put it in? :/
It runs on unity web player on windows, mac, what else to mark it.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:39pm

This game is well made and the concept is quite interesting ^^
Try to export the game on other platforms (at least a WebGL or Win version). I had to open Internet Explorer to play! :o
Good job! :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:49pm

@LittleThor
Thanks, ok ill do that thanks for advice^^

Tuism says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:47pm

You're right, it's a mind bender. Though I think unnecessarily so. Games like Super Hexagon works because it's simple enough to go into autopilot and rely on your intuition. When you have to start over logic-ing and its super fast 's it becomes not fun.

It doesn't feel consistent as to how to lose. Sometimes I miss blobs and it's game over immediately, sometimes I miss and nothing happens. Can't tell what's going on.

The trails are confusing too. The colours in the back are too, it feels like they means something but I can't tell what.

There's just too much going on to be simple enough for a good reflex game.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:10am

@Tuism
Thank you for your honest words i hugely appreciate it,
Yea you are right i guess i made it little too confusing for players to understand,
Or i really failed in giving proper instructions on how to play,
Really sorry about this i am going to add full how to play tutorial first then move on improving the game
Thanks :)

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:38am

I think you came up with a really cool concept! Needs a lot of tweaking, but definitely worth experimenting with. It would be pretty cool to watch an experienced player playing this game.

I'm not sure I understand why you have the growing/shrinking mechanic depend on the color. I think it should either not be a mechanic at all, or depend on the ball, to encourage switching. I don't know xD

Not sure why dos said it wasn't a web game... it is.
Anyway, good luck with the post-compo version!

randomhuman says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:42am

Excellent, fun and very stylish. I was a little confused about why I was getting a game over sometimes though. Sometimes you can let one through and other times you can't?

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

@Zanzlanz @randomhuman
Thanks mates :)
Really appreciate the kind words, i have been getting this problem that many people didn't get the mechanics, mostly because i didnt explain it well quite frankly :P
So, i started working on post compo version with tutorial on how to play and stuff +playstore version coming soon! :D

525 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:04am

I cant connect left&right to the clockwise´╝îI mean it alway get opposite result as I thought it to be when I push the
X or Z button.
I think its why the game is difficult, and i think it will be better on the touch screen.
amazing graphic btw~ good work

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:55am

FUCK YEAH!!!!! Last time I felt like that was playing Hotline Miami. Thank you!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:40pm

@525
Yes i am almost done with my mobile touch screen version :)
Thanks mate

@publicidadeba
OMG!! Thats a huge compliment thank you so much it really means a lot, makes all the efforts worth it :D

sararyCow says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Cool concept, I can see some influence of Ikaruga here? :)

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:11am

Nice job! I liked the swapping mechanic. The spinning round a circle reminded me of my game.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:48am

@sararyCow
Thanks mate, but no idea about ikaruga ill look it up lol :P

@Modoc73
Thanks man, ya i reviewed your game :)

Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:18am

pretty fun but I feel like the two button control theme ultimately works against this game as I think a dedicated button would be easier to use when swapping the colours, but there is nothing really wrong with how you have it so good work :)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:56pm

@thebrickanator
hahah XD ya maybe, Thanks for playing :)

Sir Magic says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Nice game, enjoyed it and I've never seen this idea used before. To improve: make it easier to stay alive, simultaneous orbs made it hard to collect them.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Fun game, I like the style and use of the theme.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Nice, simple, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/3B2_gBg5rhI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]