Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Steve's misfortune

by AdamsMcCall - Jam Entry

"Steve's misfortune" is a short 2D platform game about an alien called Steve who's trying to find a new spaceship in a weird factory after his last one exploded.

It's based on the "Two buttons control" theme. Use the mouse buttons to play.

All the assets used in this game were created during the jam.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#398Humor(Jam)2.85
#402Fun(Jam)3.29
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#594Mood(Jam)3.12
#597Audio(Jam)2.75
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#917Graphics(Jam)2.47

Comments

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

This was a fun game! I liked the right-click game mechanic. :)

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Very nice mechanics. I couldn't get past those things firing red balls at you but up until that point it was good.

I think having a delay of a second or two after each death would be much less jarring, or maybe a "click both left and right to continue" message so that you can see how you died and whay you collided with.

Overall very good, I especially liked the story at the start.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Fun little platformer but really small.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03pm

At first, all I could think was, "Oh brother, am I just going to end up holding down left mouse for the game?" and was incredibly happy when I realized it was a bit of a timing/puzzle game involving the trampoline-like blocks and turnaround ones (excuse my inability to think of better words). Ended up rather fun, and I think it might be cool to see a more refined game with these mechanics (:

As a side note: the human-made sfx for Steve falling from the sky are gold.

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43pm

In-room checkpoints would've been nice

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Good work! The mechanics are great and I think you can make more funny puzzles (Maybe I was gonna choose other buttons for the control). The storytelling was perfect.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Good work, i liked the mechanic!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I enjoyed this! It's more of a one button game, but it's still really nice!

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Cool idea,love the art and music well done :P

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Platformer with very original spin on controls, allowing for some funny puzzles - ranging from time based, to logical ones. Kudos for level design!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Needs some checkpoints in rooms, but it's a small game so I was able to clear it pretty quickly. Pretty damn fun level design and the control scheme was innovative, definite pluses for that! Art felt like it needed more time devoted to it, but beyond that, it's actually real good fun. Good work :).

seigne_m says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:03pm

vive le LATEB

IAmSpencer says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:47am

nice concept, and a fun game, the level design was carefully thought out, and I enjoyed the little intro.

overall, very nice job :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]