Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Temple of Growth

by vhaugan - Compo Entry

Puzzle 2D platformer incorporating both the "Growing" and "Two Button Controls" themes.
Controls are left and right arrow keys.

The project was a bit too ambitious for my first Ludum Dare, especially since I've never finished a game before. As a consequence the game never really made it past the prototype stage and I didn't get to use half tiles I made.
Oh well, I hope it's still somewhat enjoyable.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#95Theme4.19
#182Audio3.35
#197Graphics3.70
#291Fun3.41
#320Overall3.44
#329Mood3.19
#390Innovation3.30
#489Humor2.35

Comments

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53am

I like the look and groovy feel to this game. Although, I feel like the 2-button controls held the platforming of the game back a bit. Still, nice work :)

swellbastion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:04am

this has an impressive number of mechanics for a ld game

stevepctech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

I enjoyed this, though the moving platforms were a bit finicky. I loved your interpretation of "growth"!

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

I don't like how it felt that the game made decisions for me. For example automaticly jumping. Some of the animations and gameplay was shuttery. I liked the graphics though and the idée.

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

really nice

XbooperxdX says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

The animation was a bit weird a times, but overall the game was great. Good job using both themes as well!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

This is good! Really cool ideas and mechanics, for the short time I was able to progress in the game there were quite a few surprises. Nice level design as well. Having played no less than 3 games already, this surely is the most original one. :D

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Very good platformer (liked the smaller screen like in the handheld consoles)
The biggest growth felt satisfying after dying many times to the platforms ;)

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Really, really good.
I really want to see a full game now.

scorched says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Nice start, but don't get how to get to second stair to the torch, even if I eat the seed...

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:18am

Cool game, the auto-jump mechanic was odd at the start, but I got used to it pretty quickly. I like some of the puzzles it offered too, like having to go under the floating block rather than above by backtracking a little bit for the second 'seed.' Fun idea!

Steven Miller says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:51am

Amazing game! The mechanics were fun and unique!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]