Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Last Fantasy Harvest Sun

by AranHase - Compo Entry

A heartless dragon called Gindra is attacking the town again. You always dreamed of being a hero, and this is your chance to become one! Unfortunately a hero`s equipment price is too high. You will have to work on the farm to save enough coins for the right equipment.

Make money, buy your equipment then go west to kill Gindra!

================

Rules:

* Two controls only: Left and right! (use "AD" from WASD, or just left and right. Controller should work, but not tested)

* Stand in front of an item or object to interact with it.

* What you hold in your hand will change the interaction.

* Farming order: Hoe, Seed, Water (loop water everyday), Handcart when the crops mature to collect it.

* Animals will give you dairies that you can collect everyday.

* Losing all three hearts will only advance to the next day, so it is okay.

* Clear all the enemies to the west to finish the game.

================

Specs:

Built for Windows 64 only.

Engine: UE4
Graphics: Inkscape

===================

Known bugs:

* It is possible to grow crops without advancing a day by just leaving your home map
* Swords will require a certain gold amount to purchase, but will not consume gold coins
* Some Z-fighting on the sprites


====================

Update:

* V0_1: Only removed a debug arrow on the MC foot and fixed tutorial widget size

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#194Graphics3.71
#341Mood3.17
#421Overall3.31
#441Innovation3.21
#468Theme3.75
#575Fun3.03

Comments

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Etremely cute game, love it !

rzuf says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Well, I did it, on day 19!
http://i.imgur.com/b10zrXM.png
I collected most of my money from cows. Going to shop doesn't consume a "day", but resets the dairy hut. Another thing is this - I collected money for the best sword for like forever, and then got it for free. :E (game didn't take any money for it)
Overall - nice and cozy game, could use some chill music. :3

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Cute! Not fully fun to play because of the two buttons, bu stick well to the theme :)

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:44pm

This game does not make any sense! Why do they like cabbage so much?!?!

Great game! I didn't realize there were other things to fight besides Gindra (perhaps help text should also include "fight monsters (west)" before "fight gindra"). It appears to be possible to beat the game on Day 1 by visiting the shop, buying a chicken, and then just continuously jumping between shop and harvesting livestock without ever resting =).

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:56pm

@Saymon thank you, trying to use cuteness to take the attention away from the fact that I can't art...

@rzuf and @Jimbly , oh you **** cheaters :P haha, yah, It's a known bug but if you managed to find it then you deserve the glory of beating it on day 1! Congratulations :)

@rockford Agreed. I think the idea has potential to be fun, I just didn't manage it this time. But learned a lot, definitely.

Piscythe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I like this game idea, but I think it kinda got strangled by the 2-button theme. The actual gameplay was sound, if glitchy, but the interface left me with a headache. I can't think of a way to do it better with the limitations you had, but I found myself wishing for a mouse interface. I think this could have been helped with slower scrolling and more information density. The whole thing was exacerbated by the lag spikes I experienced, which worry me because the game doesn't have anything that could reasonably cause them. This could be a good game with a developed combat system, but as it was I found myself taking advantage of the bugs to speed my way to the finish.

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37pm

@Piscythe thank you for the feedback, really appreciate it. I think the game lacks a ton of visual feedback and "interactivity" as it is.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

I just had to finish the game! Well done. The two button control feels a bit forced but works strangely well. May work even better on mobile :)

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Neat take on Harvest Moon! You did the right thing with this bright and clear art style.

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Really liked the idea. I think if the other theme was 3 buttons instead of 2 and you could use "up" to interact with the environment or attack this game would have been amazing. Nice job working with it though and doing the auto pick/drop thing. I think feeling the need to do both themes really got the best of everyone.

Lancey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

The controls made the game feel tedious and I accidentally did a few things I didn't want to

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Cute idea! The waiting in place for the action is a clever way to get around the two button controls but it felt either too fast when i didn't know what i was doing, or too slow when i did.
Didn't see the need to plant seeds since the animals give quick money with none of the work, and since everything resets when you change maps.
Combat is a little annoying when you have to back up to the right then go left again to attack more than once, and health upgrades would've been helpful to avoid backtracking.
Overall it's a nice idea though, the art style is cute, and it's an impressive amount of content for 48h. Nice work!

AranHase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:20pm

@WakeOfLuna,
@madjackmcmad,
@Tom,
@Lancey,
@NightShadow0,
Thank you for all the feedback. This is my first Ludum Dare, but I did others Jams before where we get no feedback and its not as amazing as LD. I'm learning so much in so little time, so thank you all <3

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Really cute graphics! And nice take on the theme! The mobs remind me of another game, I forgot which one ;)

The cows are a bit overpowered, at the end I had an income of 40000 per day (I had 80 cows) and could have easily bought more cows. (It would be nice if one could just stay in place and get 1 cow/seed per second.

I like that the player can choose when do attack the enemies, I wished that there was a bit of a time pressure, because I just waited untill I could buy the diamond sword.

Shivur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:54am

Very good game.

bakudas says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Very nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]