Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Seven Weeks of Cat Monarchy

by Fathom - Jam Entry

The cat monarch has taken a seven week sabbatical and left you in control of the kingdom! As monarch it is up to you to decide whether to grow the monarchy's massive wealth horde or to use that wealth to increase the happiness of your subjects! There are many important and dramatic decisions to be made.

Made with GameMaker. Art with Aseprite. Music with Beepbox.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#7Humor(Jam)4.43
#32Mood(Jam)4.23
#55Fun(Jam)3.95
#68Overall(Jam)3.95
#90Graphics(Jam)4.34
#100Audio(Jam)3.87
#301Innovation(Jam)3.43
#856Theme(Jam)3.19

Comments

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Outstanding art! Loved it.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

super good game bonus points for cats also music and humor is great!

xevozfighter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15am

Nice work. The writing was superb.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19am

I really like the jokes and the game was very well put together! Some of the issues repeated, but the outcomes changed anyway. Great game!

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23am

I was laughing like 90% of the time... though I am a mediocre leader apparently...

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

I can tell a lot of work went into the character sprites for your game. While it didn't exactly fall under the category of "Growing" or "Two-Button Control", I still enjoyed it nonetheless. The humor in the game is great, although I did feel like running back and forth to the advisors was a bit of a chore. The writing was entertaining as well, but the choices felt a little bit too black-and-white, with no real moral issue, and I didn't feel invested in the peasant's problems. Overall, I enjoyed the game. Congratulations on a successful Ludum Dare!

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:26am

i have a thing for huge characters and funny dialogue :) good one!

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31am

very nice mood. the cat style really amuses me :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Loved it. Great job!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Hey loved too

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I really like the whole style ( graphics + music + dialogs ).. Really nice!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:30am

And the baby cats are still burning in the forest. Perfect.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:14am

Great writing as always, Jason. Could have used the theme a bit more, but the quality exempts that a little.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40am

I love the art, music, dialogue and overall decision making system. Quality game. Thank you guys for this.

oparisy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:37pm

So I walk. A lot. Which is appropriate for a fatty ruling cat I guess. And talked. A lot.

Very nice graphics and ubuesque atmosphere. I liked how my decisions did not change much in agenerally stable situation. Had fun!

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:01am

zip zip - bi bap boop boop

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Yo, I was just jamming to that first track! Music is great! The pixel art is very as well as the script! Great job!

Now, I must go find a cat to pet!

-Loi LeMix

The Vall says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Awesome art and the audio fits in well.

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:19pm

Really fun game, great cat graphics!

Zeriver says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:24am

I was reading everything in my head in "FilmCow" voice, it just felt right. Pretty fun game, i liked how you end rate was including pretty much everything you did, like consulting advisors every week

Diventurer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:29pm

The questions were really funny!
Great audio and graphics as well. :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:07am

The cat to the far left went from being the worst character to the best. <3

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:27am

Excellent art and writing. Hilarious jokes with a lot of depth provided by the advisors.

gladers says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:03pm

The best game so far in the competition!

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:15am

Pro:
+ Fun concept
+ Great writing
+ Nice graphics and music, giving a nice mood

Awesome cat work!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:42pm

The concept behind this game is pretty funny. I, of course, lost most of my cheese because I kept helping everybody. However, the happiness was up, much to the surprise of the adviser. The graphics and music fit well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]