Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nine Panels

by Chaserbrown - Compo Entry

A Simple Puzzle Game inspired by The Legend of Zelda's Ocarina!

To play the game, use the left and right arrow keys to insert patterns which do certain things, such as moving, teleporting, and blasting tiles. Created in 48 hours by a 13-year-old.

It was created using Java, Eclipse, Maschine, Audacity, and Photoshop.

Note: The link has been fixed - Hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#61Innovation3.97
#95Theme4.19
#244Overall3.55
#330Fun3.35
#444Mood3.00
#493Audio2.61
#657Graphics2.78

Comments

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45am

Fits the two-button theme very well! It is cool that you can learn different combos to input as you go!

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:56am

Great game!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

Really nice interpretation of the theme! I'm a big fan of puzzle games, and this really fits the theme nicely. The graphics and audio are a bit "meh", but overall a great job!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05am

Really cool take on the theme. Great job!

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:11am

Neat concept. Like the way it interprets the theme. Really liked how the arrows followed a sort of logic in what the combos meant.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12am

great puzzle game

jnharton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

Fits very well with the theme and is pretty amusing. Nice to have a built-in help tutorial and an indication when new combos were available. The bomb i was an interesting addition, as opposed to turbo which although useful was not particularly surprising.

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:52am

The combo system is interesting.

I didn't like the fact that I have to scroll to the end of the help pages every time I encountered a new mechanic. I think that showing the combo as soon as you obtain each mechanic would make the gameplay more fluid.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Amazing work for a 13 year old.
Plays great (just the scrolling through the combos was a little annoying) and I think it is really innovative.
Good job!

pedrocb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Very fun and creative! I really enjoyed it

Kaupenjoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:12pm

That was an amazing game. It's such an easy concept, but has so much potential. Really fun :D

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

How a nice way to stick to the theme! Nice to play.

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Cool little game! The combo mechanic is pretty original and the levels were well designed, if a bit easy. The main problem I had was that I kept confusing some combos so I had to look them up a few times. Overall, good game!

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I got confused at first, it could help if the tutorial would be a bit more in your face than that giant LOOK! -> at the top... yeah, might just be me.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Fun idea and well executed! However I got stuck on level 7 and don't know how to progress. The only possible move is to teleport up but I don't have a teleport down so I'm stuck if I do that. :s

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Great take on the theme, and it was really fun to play! The movements were a bit slow for me, but good idea!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Fun to play, good take on the theme, sound effects are really nice although some music would be stellar. Good work though! And THANK YOU for adding a map! :)

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29am

Dude, this is awesome. Graphics is cool (just the window is too big!) and the game principle is really fresh. Theme = 120% :) Congrats, epic!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:11am

I got page error 404 when trying the download link so unfortunately I cannot rate :(

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Your link seems to be dead at the moment :(

scriptorum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Your game link is still down.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:42pm

404/

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Sorry for the inconvenience... the link has been fixed!

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:28pm

i liked the 2 button code idea, think it made a very nice change from other games i have played so far. maybe need a better way of seeing the codes though, the back and forth to the combo book really slowed the game down

sausage_squad says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Amazing concept, really simple graphics but really innovative and good puzzle. Good job

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:56am

Very nice game!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Just a heads up: More people could play it, if you could also include a .jar for the people who aren't on a windows machine.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Great use of the theme and good level design too

Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I don't really think I understood it? I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EztdlDzFrUE

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]