Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

My Dino

by reggianito - Compo Entry

A little game about a scientist that really wanted a dinosaur.

The game is completely playable and pretty fun (or so I've been told), but it lacks proper menus, sound effects, and a lot of graphical effects. It's my first ludum dare so I think that's to be expected.


Thanks for giving my baby a try!

==========BUGFIX EDIT============
Fixed the dinosaur not scaling properly in some resolutions, and the difficulty having a stupid scaling (If you already tried the game and found it too easy, sorry! please try it again!)

=========OTHER EDIT==========
I'm not a very social media kinda guy, but if anyone is interested on knowing when a post-compo version is released, you can find me as reggianito on twitter and tumblr, where I'll probably post about it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#220Humor2.96
#292Innovation3.45
#320Fun3.37
#356Audio2.91
#405Mood3.06
#464Graphics3.12
#510Overall3.20
#708Theme3.41

Comments

Alloyed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35am

I like the core conceit: it reminds me of Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime, where the indirect control basically means you have to pay extra attention to things that would be pretty simple with direct controls.

It kind of doesn't lend itself well to be this unfinished, though. Since the game isn't beeping and shaking and all the other things a finished game would do to direct my attention it's made harder then usual to notice what I'm doing and what effect it's having on the top screen.

It's probably because of my weird resolution(1366x768), but as I played my dino ventured further and further from his tank into the airy unknown. It was kind of endearing tbh

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Yeah, I had a lot of trouble with the handling of resolutions.
Also I added the dino literally 2 minutes before the submission hour ended because I forgot it the first time.
Thanks for playing!

velddev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:54pm

It's pretty fun, i was looking for a console to kill the zeppelin. but i couldn't find it in time, and died because of the soldiers around me. heh, good times.

rogual says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Cool concept, I could see this really working if it were fleshed out a bit.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Nice gameplay idee, but a little bit to hard for my taste.

That is pretty much eveything i can say about the game. You had a good idée and the game turned out greate!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Interesting concept, cute art. Great job!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

I really dig the graphics, and the play on the two button theme. Found it rather difficult to handle, a bit more warp-up/explanation would have made a world of difference.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Great concept, well executed, making for a fun game. It was challenging, which I think is an important factor in games like these, so good job :)

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I liked it. I liked the challenge. Not sure if I did this wrong but it seemed when I died there was no way to just restart. It made me close the program and then I had to reopen it to try again. Nice music

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Thanks everyone for the kind words!

@Jonathan: Yeah, while working on it people told me the tutorial pacing was fine, but after release everyone told me it's too fast. Sorry about that.

@Tom: Yeah, I didn't get to write a reset function. Sorry about the inconvenience. The music was hastily done in about 20 minutes, so thank you.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Really good game, I love the way the weapons are controlled. The graphics look really nice, and I love the audio. Great job!

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Difficult game, double the stress! but very innovative. Good job!

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11am

Wow this game is actually really awesome! It was quite ambiguous at first what you had to do though. Once I figured it out I had a lot of fun.

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Cool game :) Enjoyed the concept, reminded me of Lovers in a Dangerous Spacetime.

Controls were a bit hard to get used to and memorizing what each console did was also an effort. Managed to last pretty long in the end though :D

pk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Fun concept, though difficulty curve could be somewhat less steep.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Was way too hard for me to get into, but it looked good. I didn't like that you fell off of ladders, I'd have prefered you stick to them so you can avoid bullets on both top and bottom.

Other than that, good job!

Problems:
Start and End screen's scale gorribly on my monitor (1366x768)
Dino scales outside of it's tube (maybe that was intended?)

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Thanks everyone for the kind words!

@pk: the difficulty curve was one of the last things I made before the deadline, and it was either make it a challenge or make it a walk in the park. I'll probably balance it a lot in a post-compo version.

@Ayaya33: Thanks, I forgot to scale the start and end screens. The dino scaling out of tube was supposed to be fixed, so I'll look into it. I think it's because the code considers 1366x768 to be a 16:9 ratio, when it's not exactly that, but I'm not sure.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice concept! And I really liked the visual style. Graphics are simple, but look nice. Music is ok.
Unfortunately, I'm not so good at it, too hard for me. And I was unable to understand how to rotate guns properly, both of them only rotated CCW for me.
Overall, good job.

By the way, in comments to my game you said that you stuck on a level. Recently I made a walkthrough, because want people to see my entire game, not only a first levels. Check it out if you want.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Great concept! Took a while to figure that you control both the scientist and the turrets!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Cool multitasking game, but very hard. The thing that irks me the most is that there's no noticeable way to tell which panel does what, which makes the first try of the game a crapshoot. It's also not very responsive, in that there's no sound effects. Health bar could also be more visible. Once you get the hang of things and remember which panel does what it's a pretty good game that just needs a bit more refining (can't be expected of a compo entry, let alone a first compo entry though). Would love to see support for it post-LD.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56pm

This game is legitimately hard lol.. My main complaint would be the controls. I lasted for a while though!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Pretty fun!

Jacktheviper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

The visuals are nice and the lack of menus and special effects wasn't much of a problem for me and the music did fit really well with the game theme.

But the lack of information on what I had to do was frustating in beginning, but after I managed to figure out what to do, the game was very fun.

Two small notes, the fact that you must exit and restart the game after each try is annoying and I would prefer to use "WASD" to control the character.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:44pm

This is ridiculously challenging. The graphics are nice enough and audio is also pretty good except that no SFX :°(
Very nice entry overall.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:05pm

I like art!

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:08pm

404 not found...

reggianito says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:11am

Don't know why that happened, scorched. The links were working fine for me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]