Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Combat Hell

by antonuklein - Compo Entry

First entry into a game jam and first game to be properly completed as well. I'm well aware that the controls are not that great, yet it's fully playable if you can figure out how to cleverly dodge the enemies (hint: they're clever, but not complicated).

This is controlled with the two mouse buttons (and if you want to shut off the music, hit M). That's it; qualified for the Two Button Controls theme. How does it fit into growth? *shrug* You grow in power and your wallet grows if you play well? That's as close as I can get.

EDIT: No updates to the game, I just want to let everyone know that while I'm aware the balance becomes extremely difficult at Notoriety 30 and the amount of enemies seems simple, there's 8 types of foes, all using unique sprites and weapon patterns. Sadly, there's not a lot you can make that works great in 48 hours, so sorry for the balance. Again, Windows binary is recommended since it has better graphics, performance, and full screen, and... yeah, that's about it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#155Humor3.21
#159Fun3.63
#339Overall3.41
#426Mood3.04
#437Graphics3.18
#755Theme3.34
#788Innovation2.57

Comments

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Also guys report any bugs to me if you find them. I also opted out of the music (and humor as it's inapplicable), because even though the recordings are mine, the song's origin is from Gyruss's rendition of Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor.

kiiro94 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Awesome! Great graphics and gameplay!
One of the best LD34 entries so far

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice work! It's fun and has nice aesthetics. I actually found it pretty humorous, nice dialogues :)

Beep2Bleep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Fun game, good gameplay loop of losing half your coins, very neat game. Plays well could use some more combat and power up variety but overall fun game.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38pm

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=21552

There is a shop in there ;) but hey...it was fun to play anyway. Just a bit tricky that you basically have to hold the two buttons down ALL the time

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Simple and fun but could use some landscape below the planes to spice up the mood.

Jeroenimoo0 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Hahahha, fun game, reminds me of luftrausers. The controls where nice and the fx was good. Also some jokes in there. Unfortunetly you have humor rating disabled. Good game!

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Wait, people actually find my text funny? Hold on, bringing Humor back up then.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Fun game! I seem to have difficultly getting more than around $200 before dying, back to $100, then back to $200 and dying again =). Hard mode is probably not for me anyway...

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Hard mode is literally sadism.

Second update: I've added in a Flash port of the game to Newgrounds, so if you want to play it without downloading, feel free! Note that performance issues may arise and quality is lower than the standalone version.

amras0000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03pm

The music was a fair bit grating. Tocatta and Fugue in D is much quicker, so hearing the slowed down and un-quantized version on primitive synths was...unpleasant. The graphics are nice, with the scanlines and all that. I feel like the cash you get per plane shot down is a bit small, takes a long time to get to the $1000 you need, and the game doesn't have enough content to make it enjoyable.

Ramming other planes seemed like an effective strategy. Not sure if that was intended, but it was rather fun to do.
Also, seems like the bullets despawn when they go off screen, even though there might be enemies there?

As an improvement, I'd recommend that powerups spawn a lot more often (think several weapon changes per minute) your plane get much faster movement, and have the whole game zoomed out a lot more (larger playing space, smaller planes). There wasn't really enough room to dodge properly and the whole thing felt sluggish and heavy.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:49pm

amras, all of those are extremely valid issues I've had during development. Especially the music one, hence I added in a mute button (hit M).

I originally had the playfield be able to be moved around, yet I had issues rendering the mouse properly (it tended to move wherever it wanted), which fucked with the physics. Overall, the balance of enemies health is also quite broken as well, since they're too tanky and you don't really have any power to stop them. Honestly, I actually want to remake this for a higher res with better quality... everything, really. Movement to be less sluggish, the music to not be grating, the shop to be fleshed out and less unfair (literally was running out of time when I was making it), more enemy types, enemies to have patterns... also the bullet thing was some bad optimization on my part, as I had huge slowdown without it since my game was made on a 1.4GHz AMD laptop, and I tried to keep it 60 FPS as much as possible.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Love the scanline raster look. The gameplay was interesting too -- trying to skid to your next location while rotating and shooting a target behind you feels good. And the shopkeep got a laugh out of me!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29pm

the game was enjoyable, though the shots lagged behind the mouse cursor a bit, and when i was panning to shoot a enemy it wouldnt catch up with it.

arzi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Nice controls, though a bit difficult with a touchpad :D

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Excellent entry, I mean the only thing that can be asked more of this is to have more enemy types + some actual upgrades at the shop :X Everything else is very top notch.

Good job, good luck!

madjackmcmad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Pew pew pew! Good show.

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

pretty cool game. it's funny, the controls feel natural, and it's pretty fun to kill the enemies. the enemies do get boring after a while though, and eventually it just becomes way too much to handle.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Simple, fun arcade-like game. The sprite differences in the enemies might by too subtle though. Maybe throw some more color in there?

Fathom says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17am

This was super fun. The gameplay was very solid - you did a really good job making the "two button" controls feel like a strength rather than a limitation.

Great work!

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Fun and simple game. I don't know why, but I loved the attention to detail for the cursor and how it changed with shoot, navigate, and the combination of both.

uthamon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Fun, cool-looking game, humor was spot-on. Congrats.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:59am

Good funny game. Nice gameplay.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:19pm

+ Creative idea.
+ Fun gameplay.

- Graphics could be better.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Awesome game already! Once I turned off the accidentally enabled hard mode on first start, it actually became fun :). Would be nice if the enemies weren't always going to hit you if you don't move. Say hi to that weirdo shopkeeper from me :).

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Pretty cool mechanics, although I could never get used to them.

No new objectives arose, so it became less fun as you progressed, maybe you could work on adding more gameplay.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:40pm

awesome simple game. like it

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Maul, but hard mode is turned off by default?

Danidre, I would totally have added other objectives, but time was my biggest issue.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:48pm

This was really fun and addictive. Shotgun upgrade was harder to use than machine gun tho! I thought you got the graphics and movement just right. Very nostalgic feel especially the low-bit noises and music. Well done.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:55pm

The graphics and audio make this game feel good. I liked it!

Acerio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:24am

Funny game if you ask me. I liked the sloppy minimalistic graphics, and the funny dialogues. Great game!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:30am

This could scale quite a bit faster, so that one could see the different types of enemies and test out the shot types with less tedium. The cash system is a decent start.

Reeaally not a fan of the audio. Brings back PC Speaker flashbacks in a bad way.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Hey simple idea but fun. liked the art.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:48am

interesting game. i wouldve gone further but it was super frustrating to play because of the controls, since i cant right click and left click at the same time. also you cant click or more the mouse outside of the window which was annoying. other than that it was a charming game with cool art and gameplay! nice job

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]