Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sweep The World

by Shrub - Jam Entry

A "TRASHY" game. Clean the world of filth or die trying.

Info:
you have to be in range of the trash to kill it; the trash damages you; pick up brooms from around the map and equip them to increase efficiency; the idea is to click fast enough to kill the trash without taking much damage.

the game incorporates 2 controls - left click and right click. Left click to destroy trash & equip new brooms and right click to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#849Humor(Jam)1.65
#993Mood(Jam)2.06
#1038Innovation(Jam)1.83
#1073Theme(Jam)2.28
#1085Fun(Jam)1.89
#1110Overall(Jam)2.21
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

Shrub says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:47am

First Jam ever for us. Interested to see how you think our game stacks up compared to the others. We aimed too high at first and had to give our game a complete make over to achieve the deadline.

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51am

I can't really understand what's happening. I clean trash and then I die? Depressing game (-8

bobismijnnaam says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51am

Try not to publish using an installer next time.

Extremely simple but interesting game. Sadly there was no life indicitator so it was hard to determine what actually hurt, and while clicking did seem to do something, feedback was minimal. Art was ok. I'm not really sure how you worked one of the themes into this.

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

Nice work for a first try then. The only thing is that you may want to be clearer on objectives and controls, because I had a hard time understanding what I was meant to do exactly

Shrub says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

So some info on the gameplay - you have to be in range of the trash to kill it; the trash damages you; pick up brooms from around the map and equip them to increase efficiency; the idea is to click fast enough to kill the trash without taking much damage;the game incorporates 2 controls - left click and right click

Shrub says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54am

ALSO the question mark leads to an instruction page

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59am

interesting game, great range of music :)

Si1ver says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:26am

It's crashing for me =( Probably win10 is the reason.

########################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_player:

Unable to find any instance for object index '1' name 'obj_mouse'
at gml_Object_obj_player_Step_0
##################################

ShiftNRun says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38am

Game doesn't work for me either. Just had a brown screen, with one triangle. (using Windows 7)
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_player:

Unable to find any instance for object index '1' name 'obj_mouse'
at gml_Object_obj_player_Step_0
############################################################################################

SpringCabal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48am

I guess this doesn't work on low-end hardware (my work PC).
All I get is a red window, with some barely visible controls to play, music, and one to (probably) start a game, after clicking on I get:

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object obj_player:

Unable to find any instance for object index '1' name 'obj_mouse'
at gml_Object_obj_player_Step_0
############################################################################################


Didn't rate.
-gajop

Shrub says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:44am

I'll fix it ASAP sorry for the error

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46pm

It was hard to understand what was going on at first. Especially since it start on the music player screen (?) which is also all jumbled up for some reason. I'm also pretty sure some of the music I heard is copyrighted.
It's an interesting concept, but it could really use a bit more work :)

Shrub says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:01pm

All music used is accredited to NoCopyrightSounds

Si1ver says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21am

Now it runs just fine =)

Masuno says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:06am

I don't quite understand what's going on. My brooms seemed to spawn within the trash, and I wasn't able to clean any of the trash... Like, at all.

Still, was a good attempt at a first game with only two buttons. Better luck next time, is all I can say.

Shrub says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:35am

You don't require a broom to clean the trash, you have to move into range of the trash to clean it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]