Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Skyway

by Decentsauce - Compo Entry

How to play:
1.Download file
2.Unzip Skyway.rar
3.Run Skyway.exe
4.Have fun! (And let me know your opinion ;) )


Game description:
In this game you drive a vehicle on a railway but what is this!?! The vehicle was assembled wrong and is very wide now. Also the railway is not on the ground but in the sky!

Dodge the incoming meteors while catching the power ups to increase your length and score! The bigger you are the faster your score increases. Survive as long as possible and brag to everyone about your awesome highscore.


About me & the script:
I'm Simon, the developer of Skyway. A little over two weeks ago I started making games in Python and I thought Ludum Dare would be the perfect way to improve my Python skills. This is my first Ludum Dare game. ^^ (And also my first finished game) The code is written in Python and is about 500 lines long. The script was written from scratch during the compo.

Things I did for the first time during the compo:
-Use images instead of colored blocks
-Use sounds
-Looping animation (+rotations)
-Title screen
-Make a Class
-Delete objects that went off screen for better performance

I'm quite happy with this game though I did want to implement stages with more obstacles rather then slowly increasing the difficulty. Sadly there was no time for this because of two game breaking bugs. (Which are fixed now)

Bug fixes:
14/12/2015: Fixed an exeption where you couldn't start a new round after a round
Second try at same bug...:
Well, I'm stupid. :-) So my menu works by adding 1 when you press either left or right and subtracting 1 if you let go. What happened is that when the game is over and you still had a button down that value would become negative when that button was released. When this happens the value couldn't become 2 anymore and you can't start another round.

Solution: If Value <= 0:
Value = 0






Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#468Theme3.75
#477Fun3.16
#491Overall3.22

Comments

shar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:12pm

voice sound, lol

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Enjoyed this! :D

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Not bad! I liked the voices.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Speed up...length up...length up *thump*!
game oooover!

Liked the simple concept and old graphics style :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:59pm

I though their is no sound, but seems like i am the only oned who couldnt hear it :( But overally nice game.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Pretty neat!

pompaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Very nice!

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15am

Fantastic sound effects. I found that the "powerup" that improved length actually made the game much more difficult.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

@djfariel True, game balance was low on my list at the time so mostly in the beginning it isn't always helpful to increase length. (Though score multiplayer always scales with player length)

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:51am

Original and adictive :D!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25am

Nice little game. Controls feel good, procedural level works well. I don't hear any sound, not sure whats up with that. The speed increases come on a bit fast and unexpectedly. Visuals work well enough but I think you could have just went fully abstract.

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Sound are great hahaha

PlasmaErnst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Hey there. Had fun with your game, good job!

I can very well imagine the speed builing up constantly.
Maybe pickups to give back lives or to slow speed down.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Nice game. I left the "length up" powerups alone for my second run for as long as I could. Got a lot further. I like the sound effects :P Well done

intXparts says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Awesome game! I really enjoyed the simplicity and escalation of the challenge. Excellent work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:42am

Very simple but overall well done. It was pretty fun and enjoyable! :) I wish there was more hazards though. Good job!

lastninja2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:51am

Liked it ;)

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Fun little game. I liked the voice sounds :-).

I did some pygame projects in past Ludum Dares and I just build a Version for Linux of your game. You can find it here if you want to add it: https://cloud.bubu1.eu/index.php/s/LepyntSlO5lXR10/download

marveus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:55am

Good job! Really enjoyed the voice sounds! :D

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55am

I liked it! Interesting concept, I liked how adding length made game play more complicated, rather than linearly easier/harder. I also liked the voice sounds.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Because of the lack of sound at first i got freaking scared by your splendid voice acting xD

Pretty good game by the way. Nice concept ! :)

Ayte says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Simple concept, well executed ! i enjoyed it !

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Thumbs up for participating for the first time in LD, I'd like to try your next game.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:31am

Great you are! nice little game)

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:12am

Nice first-time entry, I liked the list of things you did for the first time.

I appreciated that you checked all the boxes by including sound, although I see you didn't want to be rated on art and sound... but who cares man, just keep doing those and you'll keep improving!

Gameplay was a solid idea. It was good that one hit didn't instantly send me back to the start of the game.

If I could tweak just a few parameter values in this game I would speed it up... everything. The pace of moving forward, and the pace of swinging the thing there left and right. Maybe increase the gaps between meteors to compensate.

As it is, when I started the game it felt very slow, and when I got my speed up but then got hit I felt really slow... like ITCHING slow, not a pleasant relief from action slow.

That's just a minor tweak though! This is a solid first entry you can be proud of and build on, nice work.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:03am

@pkenney Thank you for the kind words. :) Main reason why I didn't include the graphics/audio categories was because I felt there wasn't much to rate. Haha, in hind sight it might have been better to include those categories.

The parameters you are talking about do change during the game but I agree that the initial values are way to low. Takes half a minute before the fun gets started. (And even longer if you get hit, whoops!)

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I like the voice! Well done, man. :-D

I like the concept, it needs just a little bit of balance, slow speed is a little bit boring, but after one speed up and bad luck with obstacles, it immediately gets really hard.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Really nicely made game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/XwDbETpIdpU

f7f5 says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:52pm

The Linux exe gives:

$ ./start.sh
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/cx_Freeze/initscripts/Console.py", line 27, in <module>
File "Skyway.py", line 37, in <module>
pygame.error: File is not a Windows BMP file

and I tried running the source but it didn't work:

$ python Skyway_source.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "Skyway_source.py", line 37, in <module>
background = pygame.image.load('Background.png')
pygame.error: Couldn't open Background.png

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]