Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ram Road Racer

by ThaRemo - Compo Entry

Heya, this was my first ludum dare. I'll appreciate any feedback but don't be too harsh :)
Ram Road Racer is a simple racing game with the goal to hit as many cars as possible, while avoiding spikes on the road. It's a little easy at first, but it gets harder the longer you play. I only used the theme "Two button controls".
If I had more time, I would have created some more fitting music and added local highscores.

Time spent: Almost 20 hours
Engine: Unity
Music: Fruity Loops
Sound effects: Bfxr
Art: Paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#147Graphics3.85
#193Audio3.31
#224Fun3.52
#339Overall3.41
#562Theme3.63
#735Innovation2.69

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:33am

Nice game! I always like this type of 2D/3Desque racers. it reminds me of outrun or road rash!

Very little things I think you could improve easily:
-the explosion sounds are too present
-the grass should be higher
-the car could move a bit faster (sideways) so it would be more exiting.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:12am

Awesome! The graphics are really nice, and the game just plays really smoothly. Love it!

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:33pm

cool racing game, i always wanted to do a pseudo3D racing game, here the mix between pseudo3D visuals and pixel art is really well made.
its just a little too difficult and repetitive for a game

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:53pm

I really liked the art and music. Fun racing game, nicely done !

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Really nice game! It was really fun to play, the explosion sound should be a bit more louder though

cicanci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Very well done! The graphics are really good, and the game is fun!

Coomzy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:48pm

ZIP in a ZIP, ZIP-aception!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Overall pretty good, could use a faster side to side speed, and it seems the player hitbox doesn't quite match up with the sprite, making it possible to miss cars that you visually pass through

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:53pm

I really liked this game!

+ The atmosphere is great!
+ The graphic style is perfect for this sort of a game
+ There is some nice lighting stuff going on
+ Gameplay is challenging but not too difficult
+ Nice sounds & music :)

- The music loop isn't seamless

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Awesome little game! I love the art-style and the gameplay is really entertaining and replayable! Brilliant game overall. Keep up the good work!

Innobec says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Cool game, I like the art style!

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:50am

This had a surprising depth to it; When running low on fuel, I had to decide whether to risk the timing for getting just behind spikes to grab the fuel can, or wait and pray that another one would spawn shortly.

Unfortunately, there's nothing stopping spikes from spawning RIGHT in front of a car, making them impossible to avoid and forcing the player to take damage.

Another issue is that fuel always stopped at 3 for me when I get a Game Over. Other than that this was pretty neat :D

Ingon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:44am

Well done. The music and sounds contribute a lot. Nice visuals.

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:49am

This game's a a lot of fun, and looks and sounds great. Good straight-forward execution of the theme.

I agree with others that making the side-to-side movement a bit faster would be a good improvement on this. Controller support would be nice too, but that's just gravy. Either way, I had a lot of fun with this!

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:57am

I like the concept, and the sound work is good. My concerns are the cars blocking your view of spikes right behind them (leading to the player taking unavoidable hits), the car doesn't seem to move fast enough side to side to match the speed of objects on the road (making collecting and dodging more cumbersome), and fuel cans could probably give more than just 2 fuel per pickup, given how sparse they are.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]