Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

All The Crystals

by arvaris - Jam Entry

ALL THE CRYSTALS

Goal: Find, Grow and Harvest Crystals.

Press "1" to select the “Finder” tool. It shows you possible crystal locations.
Press "2" to select the “Grower” tool. It targets a highlighted block on the ground.
Press "3" to select the “Harvester” tool. It highlights grown crystals that you can harvest.

To activate selected equipment, use the left mouse button or "Left Ctrl" key. See the number of uses left for each tool in the top right corner of the screen.

Your work day is over when you have no uses left with your Harvester, or when you can no longer grow any crystals to harvest. At the end of the day, you can upgrade your equipment.

To bring back this screen at any time, press the "h" key.

Have fun growing those Crystals!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#403Theme(Jam)3.79
#437Innovation(Jam)3.25
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#703Graphics(Jam)3.08
#743Fun(Jam)2.88
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43pm

this is a nice little game.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Grew me some crystals.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Interesting concept, music was good but loud in my headphones. Pretty simple game. Good job.

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Great concept, music was nice.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Nice game but I would appreciate it if the days lasted longer.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Cool game, text at ending was shifted out of the screen (had the same problem with unity :-)

zatch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

Great job jammin' this out guys! Music was awesome (though a little loud compared to the mood of the artwork). Given more time for development, I could see this idea turning into something with longer days, relate-able objectives, some cute NPC interactions and background story, and more variety to upgrades. Could be very Harvest-Moon-esque. See you at the next meet-up! ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great Job! I'm not sure if I would prefer "found" locations stayed found for the whole day. I liked the idea though. Can never complain about farming games haha!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very good game. Is there an ending too? Became to lazy to collect 256 units for the next upgrade :P
But the music is way too loud

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:31am

I love the sound. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:16am

Cool interpretation of the theme. It felt good to grow a really big stack of crystals!

It wasn't totally clear to me what the different crystal tiles meant. Sometimes a "big" patch only grew me two crystals, while a "small" one grew huge!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]