Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Your Defense

by gebirgsbaerbel - Jam Entry

Tower Defense with a twist! Do not simply build towers. No!
Towers that are built next to another tower will reproduce, making it cheaper to defend your base.

They breed according to genetic rules (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mendelian_inheritance).
Shapes work like blood types: (A, B, 0) -> (Triangle, Square, Circle).
Colors are codominant, so colors mix.
There is a gene that suppresses colors which is dominant. If you upgrade your towers, it’s recessive version will disable that effect.

We wanted to try something different. We think the growing of towers is really fun. What do you think?

Windows version is not tested, let us know, whether it works.

Built by me and my sister spielplatzmonster.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#266Audio(Jam)3.47
#468Graphics(Jam)3.55
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#646Innovation(Jam)2.95
#789Humor(Jam)2.06
#818Theme(Jam)3.28

Comments

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:50am

Well, As a TD lover, i have had fun playing it but it's not innovative at all.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55am

Nice interpretation of the theme. Cute that they have children.

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:00am

The idea to grow tower is a intresting idea but felt kinda weird when new towers just popped up, there is also not much need for strategy as you can just spam random towers and win. It's well done otherwise with polished sounds and graphics.

Afendar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:00am

good idea to change tower defence concept. graphism are simple but clean.I think just it is too easy.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41am

I like the audio most of all, grahpics are simple and clean. It just seems too easy and like xgor said you just spam towers. Interesting use of the theme though.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:58am

Great idea for a tower defense, but as Afendar said the game becomes to easy. And it's weird how the towers pop-up out of nothing.
Maybe you could add some more feedback like the attackers get red when lose health and when a new tower gets born.

I really liked your game, the art style is simple but great! The background music id good but a bit low to hear and when you have a lot of towers shooting the sound of then shooting becomes annoying.

Hope you guys continue this games, it could become awesome!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:07pm

Love the "breeding" mechanic! An interesting twist on an existing genre and neat use of the theme. Good work!

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Nice twist on the Tower Defense genre. I like the graphics and the simplicity.

utgarda says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I kinda like minimalism, so I rate mood highest :) But definitely not innovative.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:27pm

I love the use of colors, clean and nice. The music is also very fittable! Looking forward to see some more mechanics in post ludum ;)

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:06pm

It is a good job, is entertaining but I do not find much to do with the Themes.

danbolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:21pm

The children-having to change traits is brilliant. If I could have moved my towers around for a fee afterwards, that would be perfect.

It's like the magic of Chao breeding in Sonic Adventure taken to a new level.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Loved the clean graphics and smooth gameplay. Maybe make it a bit more challenging :)

Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-not-found-team)

Auroz says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Polished game, but the controls felt a bit jerky and there was no difficulty at all.

smbe19 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:44am

The reproduction thing happens way too often, you don't really have to do anything yourself.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Not a bad entry. The multiplication of towers is an interesting concept and with some tweaking and balancing it could make for a very interesting strategic TD game.

525 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:16am

Its too easy.
but its good.
I like the graphism.

KayZ says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:51am

Nice take on the theme and introducing something new to TD games. But needs a different kind of balancing, as it gets to easy. Also, wave 9 of the second level is kind of strange. A few weak enemies that get easily defeated when they enter the map and have a lot of time between them.

aare says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Super lovelly visuals and polish! Rated highly. As others had said tower defences had been done to death, but this one looks really cool :D

Strike says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Good interpretation of the theme. At first the game seems too hard until I understood the growing system. Except that I never managed to mix shapes and colors properly. Building 2 of the same tower in an area is enough to fill the entire surface and win. Good try on the tutrial but in the end the whole thing was very confusing.

uvwar says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Wasn't really sure what was going on with the colors (I guess my white squares filled in too quickly?) but I really liked the growing aspect (I love genetic sims!) Really cool setup!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great TD game. Graphism are simple but clean. However it's too easy ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]