Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

GrownCuber

by ferrerdev - Jam Entry

First solo dev without too much time. Hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Innovation(Jam)3.48
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#435Theme(Jam)3.76
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#592Humor(Jam)2.53
#798Graphics(Jam)2.86
#918Mood(Jam)2.50
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Was awaiting for the troll moment, but where was it o.o
Liked the simplistic design of the game, maybe some elevator music next time? ;)

Coomzy says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Nice simple fun game. Some feedback, maybe have it so that when you go on the green square it advances to the next stage? Also I think it needs to be faster pace, and I think music/sound effects would go a long way with this.

ferrerdev says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Thanks guys! Yes the nextime i will try get more time to do it better! Btw thanks for the support and feedback, really apreciated.

Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:16am

Really cool idea, very fun!

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:14am

I'm not sure what it is, but something about screwing up and watching my little cube get a layer of dirt thrown on top of him (and sometimes the physics glitch out and the cube flies of the screen when it happens) made me laugh out loud every time I lost. Not many games can do that, I think! I like how the dirt bounces at each level, and I think some cheeky sound effects would go great with that.

It's actually rather cool that you can move around on the title screen, because it gives you time to figure out how to move before you start, although it's not very obvious that you have to click "PLAY!" to start, because it doesn't look like a clickable button. It's also cool that the high score persists between play sessions, not a lot of jam games do that.

The movement mechanic is surprisingly fun at first, but gets boring pretty quickly because once you figure out how it works well enough, you can pretty much keep going indefinitely. I think making the game gradually speed up or adding some kind of obstacle would turn it into a much more fun challenge.

Stending says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:53am

That was fun, I can't say why xD
Awesome concept, congratulations!

kowalski says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:57am

Simple but effective concept. Well done!

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Really fun concept, gets a little repetitive over time. Could definitely benefit from some music.

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Liked it very much!

radmars says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Cool concept & use of the theme! Interesting challenge to try and wrap my head around the controls. Got to 20 or so before losing - a lot of that was just staying on the same square, so fixing that might help with the difficulty curve a bit. Some more visual stuff in the background to indicate your height would be really cool here too. Nice work!

Small technical note - AFAIK the pdbs shouldn't be necessary to include in the zip as they're just debug info.

Yvanor says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 1:56pm

The controls are disorientating at first, but once we understand how it works, the game because easy, but fun and quite.. relaxing ? Anyway, simple game with and working concept, good job ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]