Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Asteroid League

by mlepage - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare game!

Asteroid League is a mashup of Asteroids and Rocket League.

Each player controls a ship with two buttons (for the thrusters) to nudge an asteroid around the playing field. Each team competes to score goals.

Controls are a little twitchy, I didn't get to tune them much. Practice makes it easier!

* Q, W --> P1 thrusters
* O, P --> P2 thrusters
* C, V --> P3 thrusters
* N, M --> P4 thrusters
* SHIFT-1 to SHIFT-4 --> toggle a player in/out of the game

If this seems crowded, try adding a second keyboard using bluetooth.

TOOLS:
* Unity 5.3
* Audacity (audio)
* Bfxr (audio)
* Otomata (music)

ISSUE: If you run fullscreen at a resolution that doesn't match fullscreen, Unity incorrectly positions the UI. Either choose native resolution fullscreen, or choose a windowed resolution.

SOURCE: https://github.com/mlepage/asteroid-league

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#272Theme3.97
#289Graphics3.47
#297Fun3.40
#372Overall3.37
#402Innovation3.27
#450Audio2.69
#535Humor2.26
#607Mood2.79

Comments

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:20am

Very fun, so hard to control, on my own I scored an own goal before a good goal!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26am

I love the double thruster idea. I think the rotation is a bit sensitive though.

mcmahoniel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:35am

Great take on an old and new classic. ^_^

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

The twitchy controls are a bit to get used to. If you expand this game later (and I would, it would be lots of fun with a little polish), definitely make better collision sounds.

8/10 would recommend.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I'm even worse at this than I am at Rocket League =) But it's a fun game. I agree with the rotation being a little to sensitive and I'd suggest adding an option to turn off the soundeffects as they got quite annoying after a while.

tgrehawi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Controls are a bit challenging; I only have me so I can't really try it out with more than one person but it seems like it could be fun!

SadSmile says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I think this game could be fun - if i had any friends :/

I just didnt like the sound design (to high pitched -> hurts my ears), but i think otherwise this is a good game^^

paulfysh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:24pm

love the look of the ships, and a neat idea, but I think the turning speed on the ships is a little too high, made it really hard to control.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

A nice interpretation of the theme, having two thrusters you can use to both steer and move forward. Even though it is very hard to actually hit the ball, I like the controls a lot. I think the ball should simply be bigger :P

Good effort on a cool local multiplayer game. It's always fun to mash the keyboard with a lot of people :P

Especially impressive that this is your first entry, judging by how good it looks and works!

ZONC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21am

Hard to control, but so much fun. Cannot wait to play with 4 players at once :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

Nice to see a multiplayer game but needs ai. Controls were a bit difficult, I think maybe the turn speed is too high. Music was good but sound effects were annoying. Graphics look good, you need to make the scores bigger.

mnill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:30am

Any one can hit this fuckin ball? ;=0

Baknik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

The two button control scheme hurts more than it helps here, unfortunately. Congrats on finishing a game!

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26am

Nice game, but needs polishing in terms of control and usability. It's hard to hit the ball, and it's even harder to get it to the gates. Also, I'd like to be able to play vs bots.
Music is simple yet adorable. Graphics done well, too,

dusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

nice idea.. wish there were bots like in Rocket League
really hard to manipulate (ship rotation is little bit too much)
first goal score into my own goal

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Quite hard to control. Great game overall!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:42am

I love the concept behind this game and games like Rocket League have shown this kind of game can be really succesful! I found the controls extremely difficult, particularly trying to set the direction, I ended up rotating left then right then left over and over again, perhaps increase the damping, or have an option to, or even make tapping the button opposite to the direction you were previously going stop your direction rather than start turning you the opposite way. This game is very fun with friends, but I think it could be even better with powerups, obstacles etc to mix things up. Also, I think the audio is a little bit grating and takes away from the game a little bit. Still, it is great to see a multiplayer game in the Dare!

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Well done! I think I am the only one who likes the SFX. Especially when everybody is bumping into eachother and into the walls it creates a interesting wall of sound.
Controls are way too sensitive. If you fixed that it would be 10x better. The music was a bit bland to be honest.

Good job!

mlepage says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Hi everyone!

Thank you for playing my game, it's my first Ludum Dare, and I decided to go with compo.

Because of that, as you've noticed, I didn't get to tune the controls or the audio as much as I would have liked. It's clear this game can be improved, and maybe I'll get to do a post-compo version some day.

But I'm glad you are enjoying it!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Played this with my girlfriend and we had fun!
Controls could do with a little work and some of those sounds were a little shrill but other than that, solid entry :D
Nice!

alfie275 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Hey Marc, I did a video of your game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZDE4xf9Zjk

mlepage says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Awesome alfie, thanks a bunch!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]